LibGuides: Nursing Subject Guide: Wound Management

Resources in the library

Books
Magazines

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Acute and Chronic Wounds by Ruth Bryant; Denise Nix
ISBN: 9780323711906
Publication Date: 2024
New edition on order
Tabbner's Nursing Care 2 Vol Set by Gabrielle Koutoukidis; Kate Stainton
ISBN: 9780729544757
Publication Date: 2024
Wound Care : a practical guide for maintaining skin integrity by Kerrie Coleman; Glo Neilsen
ISBN: 9780729543170
Publication Date: 2019
Wound care manual by Keryln Carville
ISBN: 9780958736978
Publication Date: 2023
Wound care nursing by Sebastian Probst (Ed.)
ISBN: 9780702079818
Publication Date: 2021

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Australian Nursing and Midwifery Journal : ANMJ

Nursing Review

Online resources

To view, you'll be asked for a login - login with your TAFE SA Network account

Aged care : effective wound management Safe skilled practice is central to the principles of nursing. With increasing demands for health professionals to strive for higher standards of care, many nurses are returning to the basics which underpin expert clinical practice in order to review and update their current knowledge and skills.Maintaining asepsis in acute wound management is just one of many basic skills, which together create a solid foundation on which to build and support excellence in patient care delivery.This programme has been developed with the purpose of marrying the principles of infection control with an aseptic, no-touch technique thus promoting the optimum environment for wound healing.
Wound management : a nurse's guide Wound management is one of the cornerstones of good nursing care. Effective wound care extends far beyond the application of the wound dressing. Nurses and nursing assistants may be required to assess, plan, implement and evaluate wound care. In order to fulfil these roles, it's critical to have an understanding of the several basic procedures involved in wound care. In this programme we examine skin anatomy, the classification of wounds, wound procedures, wound dressings, and documentation. Knowledge in each of these areas will allow nurses and nursing assistants to make well informed decisions about wound care and ultimately play an active part in promoting wound healing
Wound management : staging pressure areas This crucial programme addresses wound management and helps coach your staff in the principles of good skin care and the management of pressure areas. It describes the four stages of pressure areas and the most common sites for pressure area development. The film will help your staff learn the causes and risks of pressure area development and perform a nursing assessment of a wound and discuss the principles of wound care.

Published on Nov 28, 2012
This video - produced by students at Oxford University Medical School in conjunction with the faculty - demonstrates the principles and techniques underlying basic wound care. It is part of a series of videos covering clinical skills and is linked to Oxford Medical Education (www.oxfordmedicaleducation.com)

Published on Jun 14, 2010

This is one in a series of videos developed by woundeducators.com where we discuss and demonstrate moist wound dressings. Some of the topics covered in this section are photographs, phases, biology, surgical, slide presentation, repair process in wound healing, nutrition, open, diabetic, delayed, scar, classifications, negative pressure, and prealbumin. See more at http://www.woundeducators.com

Click on any title to access the e-book.
See our e-books guide for further help.

Also check the Clinical Key database for many nursing related e-books published by Elsevier.

These databases contain articles and videos that may be relevant to your subject. You can access all of them via our Online Databases page.

Australian and New Zealand Reference Centre
ClickView
Clinical Key
Gale General OneFile
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
Gale Health and Wellness
JBI Connect (Joanna Briggs Institute)
MIMS Online
PubMed
Science Direct

See our database guides for help using these.

Also try:

The Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Enter your keywords, ie wound management, in the search box to get a list of results to access

Hover over "information" icon () next to each item to see a description.

Acute wounds Wound Care Centers (2014) Acute wounds
Advances in skin and wound care A peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal, Advances in Skin & Wound Care is highly regarded for its unique balance of cutting-edge original research and practical clinical management articles on wounds and other problems of skin integrity. Each issue features CME/CE for physicians and nurses, the first journal in the field to regularly offer continuing education for both disciplines.
Clinical guidelines (nursing) : wound care Moon, Kylie (2013) Clinical guidelines (Nursing) : wound care
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Enter your keywords, ie wound management, in the search box to get a list of results to access
Malignant wounds O’Brien, C. (2012) ‘Malignant Wounds’, Official Publication of the College of Family Physicians of Canada, 58 (3) pp. 272-274
Managing patients with fungating malignant wounds McMurray, V. (2003) ‘Managing patients with fungating malignant wounds’, Nursing Times, vol. 99, iss. 13, p. 55
Quality-improvement initiative : classifying and documenting surgical wounds Zinn, J. & Swofford, V. (2014) ‘Quality-improvement initiative : classifying and documenting surgical wounds’, Wound Care Advisor, vol. 9, number 1, p.34
Wounds Australia Wounds Australia is the peak body for wound prevention and management in Australia. They provide members with access to information, events and resources.
Wound care centers An online resource for woundcare treatments. Read about the best treatments for slow-healing wounds and conditions and find leading wound care specialists.