LibGuides: Shipbuilding Subject Guide: Resources

Online resources

Click on any title to access the e-book.
See our e-books guide for further help.

21st-Century Ships by Philip Wolny
ISBN: 9780766097025
Publication Date: 2018
Cruise liners, destroyers, aircraft carriers, and oil tankers are some of the massive watercraft breaking records and keeping the world economy moving and safe. This fascinating resource provides snapshots of innovative and impressive ships of the future, using these awe-inspiring vessels as an introduction to basic engineering principles. A dynamic overview of present and future seagoing giants also tackles the green and energy-efficient innovations that will make the coming century particularly important
The Maritime Engineering Reference Book by Anthony F. Molland (Editor)
ISBN: 9780080560090
Publication Date: 2012
All the key areas are covered, including ship flotation and stability, ship structures, propulsion, seakeeping and maneuvering. The marine environment and maritime safety are explored as well as new technologies, such as computer aided ship design and remotely operated vehicles (ROVs). Facts, figures and data from world-leading experts makes this an invaluable ready-reference for those involved in the field of maritime engineering.
Mechatronics: Electronic Control Systems in Mechanical and Electrical Engineering by William Bolton
ISBN: 9781292250977
Publication Date: 2018
The integration of electronic engineering, mechanical engineering, control and computer engineering - Mechatronics - lies at the heart of the innumerable gadgets, processes and technology without which modern life would seem impossible. From auto-focus cameras to car engine management systems, and from state-of-the-art robots to the humble washing machine, Mechatronics has a hand in them all.
Navies in the 21st Century by Conrad Waters (Editor)
ISBN: 9781473849921
Publication Date: 2016
What is the purpose of navies in the modern world, and what types of warship does this require? This book tackles these questions by looking at naval developments, both technological and operational, in the quarter century since the end of the Cold War. It provides the overall political and economic context, assesses significant naval operations from the first Gulf War to Russia’s annexation of Crimea, reviews changes in the objectives and composition of the principal fleets, describes major design developments amongst the main warship types, and examines wider technological and operational developments, including naval aviation, shipbuilding and manning.
Seaforth World Naval Review 2020 by Conrad Waters (Editor)
ISBN: 9781526760654
Publication Date: 2020
This anthology features in-depth assessments of naval innovations and developments around the word by leading experts in the field. The Seaforth World Naval Review 2020 provides an authoritative summary of cutting-edge naval developments across the globe. Regional surveys of fleet evolution and procurement by editor Conrad Waters are supplemented by in-depth articles from a range of experts focusing on significant new warships, technological advances and specific navies. This volume features coverage of the US Navy’s Virginia class submarines, the Royal Navy’s Tide class tankers and the Indian P28 Komorto class corvettes. Recent developments in submarine technology are analyzed by Norman Friedman
Shipbuilding Management by George Bruce
ISBN: 9789811589744
Publication Date: 2020-12-06
This book highlights the main features of shipbuilding management which lead to successful completion of shipbuilding projects. A brief review of the market context for the industry, its historical development are given to explain how shipbuilding arrived at its current structure. First pre-production including design, planning, cost estimating, procurement of materials and sub-contracting. Then, the production sequence outlines part preparation, hull assembly and construction, outfitting and painting, testing and completion. The importance of human resources and management organisation are explained. Building a ship is a complex project, so the principles of project management are described, first in general terms and then with specific reference to their application in shipbuilding. Finally managing the progress of a shipbuilding project and achieving completion are emphasised.
Shipbuilding Technology and Education by Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences; Commission on Engineering and Technical Systems; Marine Board
ISBN: 9780309521666
Publication Date: 1996
U.S. shipbuilders have fallen far behind in commercial ship construction, and face powerful new competition from abroad. This book examines ways to reestablish the U.S. industry, to provide a technology base and R&D infrastructure sustaining both commercial and military goals. Comparing U.S. and foreign shipbuilders in four technological areas, the authors find that U.S. builders lag most severely in business process technologies, and in technologies of new products and materials. New advances in system technologies, such as simulation, are also needed, as are continuing developments in shipyard production technologies. The report identifies roles that various government agencies, academia, and, especially, industry itself must play for the U.S. shipbuilding industry to attempt a turnaround.
Ship Construction by George J. Bruce; David J. Eyres
ISBN: 9780080972404
Publication Date: 2012
It provides an overview of current shipyard techniques, safety in shipyard practice, materials and strengths, welding and cutting, and ship structure, along with computer-aided design and manufacture, international regulations for ship types, new materials, and fabrication technologies. Comprised of seven sections divided into 32 chapters, the book introduces the reader to shipbuilding, including the basic design of a ship, ship dimensions and category, and development of ship types. It then turns to a discussion of rules and regulations governing ship strength and structural integrity, testing of materials used in ship construction, and welding practices and weld testing. Developments in the layout of a shipyard are also considered, along with development of the initial structural and arrangement design into information usable by production; the processes involved in the preparation and machining of a plate or section; and how a ship structure is assembled.
Submarine Hydrodynamics by Martin Renilson
ISBN: 9783319161846
Publication Date: 2015
Presents recent research together with applications in real submarine design and operation. Topics covered include hydrostatics, manoeuvring, resistance and propulsion of submarines. The author briefly reviews basic concepts in ship hydrodynamics and goes on to show how they are applied to submarines, including a look at the use of physical model experiments. The issues associated withmanoeuvring in both the horizontal and vertical planes are explained, and readers will discover suggested criteria for stability, along with rudder and hydroplane effectiveness. The book includes a section on appendage design which includes information on sail design, different arrangements of bow planes and alternative stern configurations. Other themes explored in this book include hydro-acoustic performance, the components of resistance and the effect of hull shape.
Technical Math for Dummies by Barry Schoenborn; Bradley Simkins
ISBN: 0470598743
Publication Date: 2010
You'll learn how to apply concepts of algebra, geometry, and trigonometry and their formulas related to occupational areas of study. Plus, you'll find out how to perform basic arithmetic operations and solve word problems as they're applied to specific trades.

Maritime Business Review
Maritime Business Review aims to provide the latest research insights and state-of-the-art of the theory and management practice to maritime researchers and practitioners on all aspects of maritime business.
MABR will serve all maritime business disciplines that include, but are not limited to:

• Cruise operations and management
• Shipping sustainability and social responsibility
• Technology in maritime business
• Maritime security
• Safety management
Issue(s) available: 20 – From Volume: 1 Issue: 1
more...less...
ISSN 2397-3757
access direct or via Databases - Emerald within TAFE SA library portal
Journal of Marine Engineering & Technology
Open access for papers older than 24 months.Current papers limited to Abstract only.
Publishes research on marine engineering and technology including
fuel systems
energy saving technology
artificial intelligence
robotics and automation.

If you're on campus, just click on any of these titles to play the video.
If you're off campus, you'll be asked for a login - go to this page to obtain a login ID.

Australia's National WHS Legislation
New Work Health and Safety legislation came into effect in some Australian states and territories on 1st January 2012. It was developed to harmonise the laws affecting workplace safety in Australia by replacing existing state based OH&S legislation. This interview led programme gives a brief history of the development of workplace safety in Australia, the development and need for the new WHS laws, defines key terms in the system, and explains changes to incident notification and offence categories. Craig Salter, from Action OHS consulting, provides clear, detailed explanations of the WHS legislation. A production for the TAFE market and employment sectors, it provides an understanding of the new WHS legislation as well as showing that Workplace safety is a system of change.

Lasers in Design Technology
This programme takes a cutting edge look at lasers and CAD CAM technology used in industrial applications and describes why lasers are so central to modern industry.

Australian Institute of Marine and Power Engineers (AIMPE)
The Australian Institute of Marine and Power Engineers (AIMPE) is the union representing the industrial and professional interests of marine & power engineers in Australia.
Members of AIMPE work on a wide range of ships and other vessels including tankers, bulk ships, offshore oil and gas industry vessels, FPSOs, ro-ros, passenger ships, patrol boats, tugboats, ferries, dredges, MODUs, and the power generation industry.
AIMPE is affiliated to the ACTU, Australia's peak union body, and to the International Transport workers Federation (ITF).AIMPE is also affiliated with the Nautilus Federation which represents maritime officers around the world. AIMPE together with the Australian Maritime Officers Union has also formed the Nautilus Federation of Australia to represent maritime officers in Australia.
Bureau Veritas
Bureau Veritas develops Rules, Rule Notes and Guidance Notes to benefit our clients, partners, and the marine industry overall. We use the vast experience of our engineers, gained through years of service in the marine industry, combined with advanced research into structure and hydrodynamics, to ensure development of the most relevant and up-to-date Rules
European Commission : Waste and Recycling Ships
EU rules on ship recycling aim to make it greener and safer, and to reduce the negative environmental and social impacts of recycling ships. Hundreds of large ships are dismantled in poor environmental and social conditions each year. Workers are low-paid and often have inadequate tools and little protection. This has caused many injuries, deaths and significant pollution.
The EU’s Ship Recycling Regulation is the only dedicated legally binding framework regulating ship recycling.
How to Draw and Read Line Diagrams Onboard Ships?
Understanding the operations and intricacies of machineries can be arduous and challenging task onboard ships. For every engineer officer, preliminary theoretical knowledge of day to day operations and piping systems is important for taking cognizance of complicated machinery operations. The hierarchy on board further defines and demands the engineers in their first stint onboard to trace the piping diagrams in order to have thorough understanding of different symbols and lines from the facsimiles provided onboard.
Lloyd's Register Foundation
The Heritage & Education Centre have made historic copies of World Fleet Statistics available, dating from 1878 until 2000. Statistical tables providing an analysis of the world's merchant fleets
Royal Australian Navy Fleet
Ships, boats and craft of the Royal Australian Navy
Seacare Authority (Australia)
Seafarers Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Authority .Seacare is a national scheme of occupational health and safety (OHS), rehabilitation and workers' compensation arrangements which applies to defined seafaring employees and – in relation to OHS – defined third parties.

The library subscribes to various databases which contain articles on the shipbuilding/defence industry. You can access all of them via our Online Databases page.

ANZRC - Australia New Zealand Reference Centre contains Australasian and international magazines, newspapers, reference books, biographies, company information and an image collection. Both full text and abstracts.

Australian Standards - Full text access to Australian and joint Australian/New Zealand standards and most Standards Australia handbooks.

Emerald - Articles on all aspects of mechanical and materials engineering, business and management, including human resource management...

Gale General OneFile - This database is useful to users conducting general reference queries, business searches, and current event research. Computers and Technology listed as a focus

Knovel - Engineering related resources

Newsbank : Access Australia - Access key Australian Newspapers - 'The Advertiser'. 'The Australian' and 'The Sunday Mail' - full versions

Science Direct - Good overall technology and science related database

To access Australian Standards:

Go to our Online Databases page
Using your current TAFE SA email , sign-up for an individual Techstreet account
Once you receive the Welcome email from Enterprise@Techstreet - set your personal password and download FileOpen and Adobe Acrobat. Details will be in that email.
You then search direct via https://subscriptions.techstreet.com/ Search by Australian Standard Number, Keyword or Subject

See our Australian Standards Database Guide for further help.

See instructional video below for accessing Australian Standards via Techstreet - viewers need to login with TAFE SA network account to view this 3 minute training video.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how

Search the full library catalogue using the button above, or click on a title below to see where that item is held

Concepts in Submarine Design by Roy Burcher; Louis J. Rydill; I. Dyer (Contribution by); J. N. Newman (Contribution by); W. G. Price (Contribution by); R. Eatock Taylor (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780521559263
Publication Date: 1996
This book explores the many engineering and architectural aspects of submarine design and how they relate to each other and the operational performance required of the vessel. Concepts of hydrodynamics, structure, powering and dynamics are explained, in addition to architectural considerations which bear on the submarine design process. The interplay between these aspects of design is given particular attention, and a final chapter is devoted to the generation of the concept design for the submarine as a whole. Submarine design makes extensive use of computer aids, and examples of algorithms used in concept design are given. The emphasis in the book is on providing engineering insight as well as an understanding of the intricacies of the submarine design process. It will serve as a text for students and as a reference manual for practising engineers and designers.
Design principles of ships and marine structures by S C Misra
ISBN: 9780367575267
Publication Date: 2024
A solid grasp of the fundamentals of materials, along with a thorough understanding of load and design techniques, provides the components needed to complete a marine platform design. Design Principles of Ships and Marine Structures details every facet of ship design and design integration, and highlights the design aspects that must be put together to create an integrated whole product. This book discusses naval architecture and marine engineering applications and principles relevant to the design of various systems, examines advanced numerical techniques that can be applied to maritime design procedure at the concept design stage, and offers a comprehensive approach to the subject of ship design.
Diesel engines and fuel systems by Barry Wellington
ISBN: 9780648467410
Publication Date: 2020
Mathematics for technicians by Blair Alldis
ISBN: 9781743070772
Publication Date: 2012
Outboard Engines by Edwin R. Sherman
ISBN: 0071544623
Publication Date: 2008
The secret battle, 1942-1944 : the convoy battle off the east coast of Australia during World War II by Robert Wallace
ISBN: 1875630481
Submarine design and construction fundamentals by Richard Skiba
ISBN: 9781763717336
This book offers a guide to submarine design and construction, appealing to a diverse audience of professionals and enthusiasts alike. It covers essential principles and advanced technologies that shape modern submarine engineering, making it a valuable resource for emerging naval architects and marine engineers. The book dives deep into key elements like hull construction, propulsion systems, and the integration of advanced materials, ensuring a detailed understanding of the design process. For prospective military personnel and defence analysts, the book sheds light on the strategic importance of submarine design in naval operations, emphasizing stealth, endurance, and payload capabilities. Submarine technicians will also benefit from its technical explanations, which focus on operational systems, enabling more efficient maintenance and repairs. Students and academics in naval engineering and defence studies will find the book useful for both foundational learning and advanced research. It provides comprehensive coverage of engineering practices and historical innovations in submarine design, making it an ideal reference for coursework or academic study. Defence contractors and policy makers can leverage the book’s insights into the technical complexities of submarine construction, aiding in effective project management and procurement decisions. Furthermore, the book explores the environmental impact of submarines, offering a perspective useful for marine conservationists and environmental scientists interested in sustainable naval operations. This book serves as a holistic resource for anyone seeking a deeper understanding of the complexities and innovations shaping submarine technology today.

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Diesel engines
Through live action and animations learn how to operate, disassemble, service, reassemble and handle diesel engines. Also learn about basic testing procedures, part replacement and common methods on how to determine the difference between the two and four stroke engines. CONTENTS: Diesel engine operation & construction -- Diesel engine teardown - Diesel head service.

Engineering Disasters
Over 40 of history's biggest engineering catastrophies. Modern marvels (Television program)
Explores notable disasters caused by poor planning, negligence, or innovative strategies that didn't work and searches for clues as to what happened..The catastrophes recounted led to the creation of Superfund sites for the cleanup of toxic waste, improved safety standards for cars, planes, and ships