LibGuides: Policing Subject Guide: Resources for TAFE SA Policing students

Policing resources available online

Click on any title to access the e-book.
See our e-books guide for further help.

Dictionary of Policing by Newburn, T & Neyroud, P This Dictionary is part of a series of dictionaries covering key aspects of criminal justice and the criminal justice system and designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners. It contains approximately 300 entries (of between 500 and 1500 words) on key terms and concepts
ISBN: 9781843925996
Publication Date: 2008 published in Great Britain
Equality and diversity in policing [e-book] by Brian Stout Contents: Title -- Copyright -- Contents -- 1 Getting started -- 2 Age -- 3 Disability -- 4 Gender -- 5 Race -- 6 Religion -- 7 Sexual orientation -- 8 Conclusion -- Index. Summary: Full coverage of the key issue of equality and diversity and its relevance to modern policing for all students undertaking degrees or foundation degrees.
ISBN: 9780857255839
Publication Date: 2010
Policing Encounters with Vulnerability by NIcole L. Asquith, Isabelle L. Bartkowiak-Théron, Karl A. Roberts, Karl A.
ISBN: 9783319512280
Publication Date: 2017

Hover over "information" icon () next to each item to see a description.

ANZPAA (Australia New Zealand Policing Advisory Agency) A leading advisor on current and emerging policing priorities, facilitating annual police conferences; collaborative procurement; cross-jurisdictional strategy and capability development; cross-jurisdictional policy instruments, education and training products, and workshops; engagement across policing, industry and forensic services; environment scanning and foresight; research and information co-ordination for policing and forensic services; and promotion of quality and consistency of practice.
Australasian Legal Information Institute (Austlii) Provides free access to Australian court cases and legislation e.g. Occupational Health Safety and Welfare Act 1986
Australian Federal Police The AFP's role is to enforce Commonwealth criminal law, contribute to combating complex, transnational, serious and organised crime impacting Australia's national security and to protect Commonwealth interests from criminal activity in Australia and overseas. The AFP also has responsibility for providing policing services to the Australian Capital Territory and Australia's territories, including Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Norfolk Island and Jervis Bay. The AFP works closely with a range of other law enforcement and government agencies at state, territory, Commonwealth and international levels, enhancing safety and providing a secure regional and global environment.
Australian Institute of Criminology (AIC) Contains links to reports, discussion papers, research, statistics, media releases and more
Crime and justice: Australian Bureau of Statistics Includes statistics on Prisoner Characteristics Experiences of Crime, Victimisation, Domestic Violence & Drugs
Law Handbook Online Contains an overview of the law in South Australia presented in everyday language
SAPOL crime statistics SAPOL has introduced more detailed crime statistical reporting at suburb/post code level. The new interactive suburb level crime mapping tool provides you with more information about the incidence of crimes against the person and crimes against property in your suburb or postcode area for the previous month. Rolling 12-Monthly Crime Statistics (State Totals). A further five years of suburb-based crime data for crimes against the person and crimes against property is available at data.sa.gov.au, for longer term trend analysis. Sexual offences are not included in these data sets at suburb/post code level for privacy reasons.
South Australian Legislation Access to South Australian legislation and information about South Australian legislation, including information about the making, commencement, operation, variation or cessation of legislation and the making, commencement, operation, variation or cessation of other instruments made under legislation
South Australia Police The official SA Police website

If you're on campus, just click on any of these titles to play the video.
If you're off campus, you'll be asked for a login - go to this page to obtain a login ID.

Australia's National WHS Legislation Review: New Work Health and Safety legislation came into effect in some Australian states and territories on 1st January 2012. It was developed to harmonise the laws affecting workplace safety in Australia by replacing existing state based OH&S legislation. This interview led programme gives a brief history of the development of workplace safety in Australia, the development and need for the new WHS laws, defines key terms in the system, and explains changes to incident notification and offence categories. Craig Salter, from Action OHS consulting, provides clear, detailed explanations of the WHS legislation. A production for the TAFE market and employment sectors, it provides an understanding of the new WHS legislation as well as showing that Workplace safety is a system of change.
Crime and deviance In this programme we take a journey through time to show how ideas about crime have moved in and out of fashion, how some of the latest strategies of crime prevention go back to the 19th century and how thinking about crime and deviance is influenced by wider social changes.
The Criminal Investigation Process This exceptional programme examines the criminal investigation process in Australia via the dramatised story of an armed robbery at a typical suburban convenience store. We provide an introduction to the role of police and the responsibility of citizens to report crime, followed by a detailed procedural overview of collecting evidence, arresting suspects, detention, charging, summons, bail and remand. With realistic dramatisations, amazing access to a real police station – including temporary detention cells and interview rooms – and expert insight from a detective sergeant and a solicitor, this programme is a must-have introduction to the criminal investigation process in Australia.
Defuse the Situation: Online Search and Review It’s high drama – police have identified a time-bomb in a car boot. Brave Constable Taviner decides to defuse it herself – brave because she has no idea what she’s doing. In a flash, skills coach Ray Roundtree appears to save the day with sure and savvy tips about online research – using search engines effectively, identifying reliable information sources and skim-reading.
Expert Evidence Episode 03: Credentials and Technology Professor Barbara Etter (Edith Cowan University), police forensic investigator Karl Kent, and Sam Norton of Robert Stary Lawyers discuss the challenges posed by evolving technologies when developing and presenting expert evidence
Expert Evidence Episode 06: Pre-appearance Discussions Sam Norton (Robert Stary Lawyers) and Karl Kent (Victoria Police Forensic Services Department) discuss with Professor Barbara Etter (Edith Cowan University) the importance of pre-appearance discussions with relevant parties.
How to Manage a Task Force When it comes to organising a taskforce or project team for a complex job or serious problem, Colin McLaren, a former homicide task force leader, tells Eve Ash it essential to recruit the best people with relevant experience, qualifications, energy and drive. The taskforce needs excellent communications and information sharing processes, the capacity to debrief when things are stressful, the best equipment for the job and high standards. Above all, leaders must stay focused, remembering to post all salient points, progress and successes, and acknowledging people while maintaining confidentiality.
Rights and Responsibilities for Young People We live in a society governed by a set of laws. Laws keep us safe, to help us resolve our problems, and to stop people causing harm to others. Every citizen has certain rights and responsibilities as set out by the law - if you do the wrong thing then you're responsible. But at what age is a person considered old enough to be responsible for breaking the law? And should we expect the same level of behaviour from children as we do adults? In this informative programme we look at the age of criminal responsibility, the rights of children when arrested, the children's court, penalties imposed on young offenders and alternatives to court.
Crimes against People This video will cover how to identify crimes against people and some of the variations of these crimes.
Searching Procedures This video is a session on different searching procedures.

International journal for crime, justice and social democracy The International Journal for Crime, Justice and Social Democracy has been ranked by Scopus as the top Law journal in Australia. The journal has been steadily growing in international stature and recognition with over a quarter of a million downloads from all over the world. It only just became eligible for ranking.

Policing Subject Guide

Policing resources available online

Policing resources held in the library