LibGuides: Plumbing Subject Guide: Resources

Welcome to the Plumbing Subject Guide

This is your guide to resources and information on plumbing & water operations provided by your TAFE SA Libraries.

There is no physical library collection at Tonsley Campus. You have access to the TAFE SA Library network catalogue and the items at other campus libraries. You can reserve items online and collect them - and return them - from the Hub Desk at Tonsley.

Many items are available as e-books and streaming videos which you can access on your computer on or off campus.

Welcome and orientation video for TAFE SA library services 26 mins

(staff and student focused)

https://youtu.be/eHSTT3CnyO8

We have a self-paced 'Exploring TAFE SA Libraries’ LEARN page, accessible to all currently enrolled TAFE SA students: https://learn.tafesa.edu.au/course/view.php?id=12204#section-0

Basic Plumbing Skills by Dean Carter
ISBN: 9780170424691
Publication Date: 2021
This book "Is designed to meet the requirements of the latest national Training Package for the Certificate III in Plumbing by providing information and activities that reflect the ever-changing skills required to undertake safe and effective activities in plumbing services area. The market-leading Cengage Plumbing Skills series provides learners with the knowledge, skills and awareness they need to be successful in the plumbing industry. The series is structured to build step-by-step knowledge, working from general/foundation subjects towards more specific and technical detail as they progress. Combining safe work practices with professional skills it develops problem-solving ability and a thorough understanding of how and why things are done in a certain way
Roof plumbing by Owen Smith
ISBN: 9780170439251
Publication Date: 2022
This text addresses the roofing stream in Certificate III in Plumbing and has been updated in this edition to meet SA HB39-2015 ‘Installation Code for Metal Roof and Wall Cladding’, AS/NZS 3500.3:2021 ‘Storm water Drainage’ standards and and AS 3959:2018 ‘Construction of buildings in bushfire prone areas’. The Cengage Plumbing Skills series provides you with the knowledge, skills and awareness you need to be successful in the plumbing industry. The series is structured to build step-by-step knowledge, working from general/foundation subjects towards more specific and technical detail as you progress. It develops problem-solving skills, combining safe work practices with professional skills and a thorough understanding of how and why things are done in a certain way. References to AS/NZS 3500:2021, referred to in the Plumbing Code of Australia, prompts familiarity with the codes throughout your training
Sanitary & Drainage by Peter Wenning
ISBN: 9780170424899
Publication Date: 2021
Basic Plumbing Services Skills: Sanitary & Drainage, 3e provides you with the knowledge and skills needed to complete tasks in the above ground (sanitary) and below ground (drainage) services. End-of-chapter tasks focus on theory as well as practice, while WHS references throughout the text explore important issues faced in the industry and the workplace.

This edition meets the requirements of the training requirements from the new Certificate III in Plumbing, CPC Training Package.
Water Supply
ISBN: 9780170424981
Publication Date: 2021
Water Supply, 4e builds on the basic skills, knowledge and understanding introduced to you in Basic Plumbing Services Skills, 4e. Fully updated to current industry practices, this edition covers both ‘common’ and ‘water’ stream competencies in the Certificate III in Plumbing, CPC Construction, Plumbing and Services Training Package.

This text provides the knowledge and skills you’ll need to undertake safe and effective activities in the water supply services area.

Water Supply, 4e covers the following units of competency:
‒ Fabricate and install non-ferrous pressure piping: common materials used in the supply of water - CPCPCM3023*
‒ Install water services: main to meter - CPCPWT3021*
‒ Set out and install a water service: meter to points of discharge - CPCPWT3021*
‒ Install water service controls and devices: valves and ancillaries - CPCPWT3026*
‒ Install and commission water heating systems: hot water - CPCPWT3022*
‒ Fit off and commission heated and cold water services: fit out - CPCPWT3026*
‒ Fabricate and install fire hydrant and hose reel systems - CPCPFS3031*
‒ Install water pump sets - CPCPWT3025*
‒ Connect and install storage tanks to a domestic water supply - CPCPWT3020*
‒ Backflow prevention - CPCPWT3027*
Inside Water Magazine
Publication Date: 2022-
Inside Water magazine is the industry’s dedicated resource for the latest developments and in-depth features on the latest news, achievements, equipment, technologies and products that will benefit the water industry. Don’t miss an issue – subscribe today!

It is a valuable reference tool positioned as a must-read for water corporations, governments and members of the water industry.

Inside Water is published 6 times a year and contains:

a news round-up
interviews with industry leaders
in-depth profiles on innovative people, facilities and services
coverage on international developments
updates and analysis on new regulations
Water in Australia : managing economic, environmental and community reform by Stephen Rix
ISBN: 186403002X
Publication Date: 1993

Online resources

Click on any title to access the e-book.
See our e-books guide for further help.

Construction Mathematics by Surinder Singh Virdi; Roy Baker
ISBN: 9780080464589
Publication Date: 2006
Hydrogen Technologies by Reimund Neugebauer (Editor)
ISBN: 9783031162961
Publication Date: 2024
In this book, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft presents the knowledge and experience it has acquired along the entire value chain of the hydrogen economy. This encompasses materials and system development, production, system upscaling, energy sector applications, emission-intensive industry processes and mobility, as well as the practical, overarching issues of safety, standardization and service life.
Plumbing, Electricity, Acoustics by Norbert M. Lechner
ISBN: 9781118131084
Publication Date: 2012

To search for Australian Standards:

Go to our Online Databases page

Using your current TAFE SA email , sign-up for an individual Techstreet account
Once you receive the Welcome email from Enterprise@Techstreet - set your personal password and download FileOpen and Adobe Acrobat. Details will be in that email.
You then search direct via https://subscriptions.techstreet.com/ Search by Australian Standard Number, Keyword or Subject

See our Australian Standards Database Guide for further help.

Standards you might be interested in:

AS/NZS 3500.1:2021 Plumbing and drainage, Part 1: Water services

AS/NZS 2032:2006 Installation of PVC pipe systems

AS/NZS 4032...Water Supply

AS/NZS 1547:2012 On-site domestic wastewater management

See instructional video below for accessing Australian Standards via Techstreet - viewers need to login to their TAFESA network account to view this 2 minute training video.

These databases contain articles that may be relevant to your subject. You can access all of them via our Online Databases page.

ANZRC
Emerald
Techstreet (Australian Standards)

National Construction Code of Australia Volume Three – Plumbing
NCC Volume Three contains technical requirements for the design and construction for plumbing and drainage systems in new and existing buildings. Volume Three applies to these systems in all classes of buildings whenever plumbing work is carried out. Volume Three additionally applies to sites where water services are constructed independent of buildings

Tools of the Trade : Inside the Plumber's Toolbox [streaming video]
Publication Date: 2006
This programme introduces the common tools and materials of the plumbing trade. Each tool is described, including their benefits, demonstrations of proper use and details regarding the type of job for which they are most suited. Safety precautions and industry tips are provided and the four major types of piping and tubing (steel, copper, plastic, and cast iron) are reviewed.