LibGuides: Pathology Subject Guide: Library Resources

Welcome to the Resources Guide for Pathology students! If you are studying at Adelaide Campus, expand the video above for a virtual tour of the library.

Resources in the library

Books
DVDs

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Anatomy, Physiology, and Disease by Bruce J. Colbert; Jeff Ankney
ISBN: 9780134158129

Publication Date: 2015
The Human Body in Health and Illness, ANZ Adaptation - Pack by Barbara Herlihy; Ellie Kirov
ISBN: 9780729544481

Publication Date: 2021
Human Diseases by Marianne Neighbors; Ruth Tannehill-Jones
ISBN: 9781285065922

Publication Date: 2014
Pathology for the Health Professions by Ivan Damjanov
ISBN: 9780323357210

Publication Date: 2016
Phlebotomy Essentials by Ruth E. McCall
ISBN: 9781284263480

Publication Date: 2024
Robbins Basic Pathology by Vinay Kumar; Abul K. Abbas; Jon C. Aster
ISBN: 9780323353175

Publication Date: 2017
Understanding the Australian Health Care System by Eileen Willis; Trudy Rudge; Louise Reynolds (Editor)
ISBN: 9780729543286

Publication Date: 2019

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Basic principles of infection control : staff education & training
Covers basic infection control principles and practices including hand cleansing, standard precautions for blood and body fluids, use of protective clothing and equipment, sharp injury protection, and transmission-based precautions. Highlights the components of an assessment of compliance including an infection control interview session, documentation, and physical inspection.
Infection control : essential practices and procedures for Australian hospitals
This training presentation details the latest infection control practices and procedures for the health care sector. The guidelines are internationally recognised as curretnm best practice. Subjects featured include: know the hazards ; how infections can spread ; infection control risk assessments ; basic hygiene principles ; managing hygiene in rooms, communal areas, bathrooms & toilets ; spills management (body fuids/blood) ; correct handling & disposal of sharps ; sterilizing/disinfecting practices ; linen/laundry hygiene ; food services (safety guidelines) ; protection for health care workers ; managing infectious illnesses ; how to adopt a quality approach to infection control

Online resources

Click on any title to access the e-book.
See our e-books guide for further help.

Blood Collection by Di Lorenzo, Marjorie Schaub
ISBN: 9780803624085
Essential of human anatomy & physiology by Elaine Marieb
ISBN: 9781292401805

Publication Date: 2021

Hover over "information" icon () next to each item to see a description.

Australian Guidelines for the Prevention and Control of Infection in Healthcare These guidelines provide recommendations that outline the critical aspects of infection prevention and control.
ECG Test Information from the Better Health Channel on Electrocardiagrams
The Guardian for Children and Young People Information sharing guidelines
Hand Hygiene Australia Hand Hygiene Australia provide resources and services necessary for the implementation and sustainability of the NHHI and support the education of all Australian health care workers about the importance of hand hygiene in the prevention of health care associated infections.
Health Care Worker Immunisation Requirements Health Care Workers (HCWs) have an increased risk of acquiring some vaccine preventable diseases and of transmitting these diseases to other health care workers, other employees, patients, family members and visitors in SA Health services. This website will help you to find out the immunisation requirements for Health Care Workers.

These databases contain articles that may be relevant to your subject. You can access all of them via our Databases page.

ANZRC - Australia and New Zealand Reference Centre
General OneFile
Gale Health and Wellness
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
JBI Connect : Joanna Briggs Institute
Science Direct

To view, you'll be asked for a login - login with your TAFE SA Network account

Click here for a guide to show you how to access these on and off campus.

Anatomy and physiology, an introduction : 10. Blood, the Lymphatic System and Immunity In this video resource students will hear about how Bat saliva has been studied for its anti-clotting qualities, and how desmoteplase, the specific enzyme, is being used to help stroke patients. In the conventional treatment of stroke, tPA must be administered within the first three hours of the event in order to un-clot blood in the brain. However, it has been found that desmoteplase can be administered up to 9 hours after a stroke and still yield similar results.
Publication Date: 2011
Homeostasis Homeostasis is an important regulatory system that allows organisms to maintain internal stability and metabolic efficiency within variable external environments. Our bodies are constantly being subjected to changes in such things as temperature, air quality, varied foods, sleep and physical exertion to name a few. This program introduces biology students to the phenomenon of homeostasis, why it is important and how it works. The mechanisms for detecting and counteracting changes are explored, along with the roles of the nervous and endocrine systems in maintaining a balance.
Publication Date: 2007

To setup a TechStreet Account for Australian Standards

New users will need to complete an individual registration using current TAFESA email address

Location is your 'home' campus

YOU must use your TAFESA email address for Techstreet Registration - An email will be sent to you via Enterprise@Techstreet.com

Follow the instructions and set up your personal password

TAFESA Techstreet Database Guide

To access Australian Standards, go to the TAFESA Library - Databases A-Z listing.

Standards you might be interested in:

AS/NZS 3200.1.2:2005 : Medical electrical equipment - General requirements for safety
AS/NZS 3551:2012 : Management programs for medical equipment
AS/NZS 3200.1.4:1997 : Approval and test specification - Medical electrical equipment - General requirements for safety

You can now read a whole range of Australian national, state and local newspapers online via our new database NEWSBANK. It provides the full text for over 600 publications.

Check out Newsbank via our Databases page (requires login).

Newspapers