LibGuides: Metal Fabrication Subject Guide: Resources

Resources in the library

Books
DVDs

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Fabrication and Welding Engineering by Roger Timings
ISBN: 9780750666916
Publication Date: 2008-07-11
Fundamentals of Machining and Machine Tools by R. K. Singal; Mridual Singal; Rishi Singal
Call Number: 621.902 S617
ISBN: 9788189866662
Publication Date: 2008
Machining Fundamentals by John R. Walker; Bob Dixon
Call Number: 621.902 W181
ISBN: 9781619602090
Publication Date: 2013
Marking-off techniques for metal fabrication: A basic course by Cec Cox & Graham Meyer
ISBN: 9780074510049
Publication Date: NSW : McGraw-Hill Australia Pty Ltd, 2008
Materials and Manufacturing: an Introduction to How They Work and Why It Matters by Mark Atwater
Call Number: 620.11 A887
ISBN: 9781260122312
Publication Date: 2018
Precision Machining Technology by Peter J. Hoffman; Eric S. Hopewell; Brian Janes
Call Number: 621.902 H711.2
ISBN: 9781285444543
Publication Date: 2014
Technology of Machine Tools by Steve F Krar
Call Number: 621.902 K89.8
ISBN: 9781260565782
Welding and metal fabrication by Larry Jeffus
ISBN: 9781111308056
Publication Date: Clifton Park, NY : Delmar, Cengage Learning, c2012
Welding Engineering by David H. Phillips
ISBN: 9781119858720
Publication Date: 2024

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

MIG welding in all positions 1997

Arc Welding 2011

Online resources

Click on any title to access the e-book.
See our e-books guide for further help.

Advanced Mathematics for Engineers and Scientists with Worked Examples
ISBN: 9781032663272
This covers core to advanced topics in mathematics, providing a comprehensive, step-by-step presentation of concepts to engineers, scientists and general readers. It moves from simple to challenging areas, with carefully tailored worked examples. Mathematical concepts are linked with engineering applications.
Materials for Engineers and Technicians by Raymond A. Higgins; W. Bolton
ISBN: 9780080962146
Publication Date: 2010
Olin's Construction by H. Leslie Simmons
ISBN: 9781118067031
Publication Date: 2011
You'll find the most up-to-date principles, materials, methods, codes, and standards used in the design and construction of contemporary concrete, steel, masonry, and wood buildings for residential, commercial, and institutional use. Organized by the principles of the MasterFormat ® 2010 Update, this edition: Covers sitework; concrete, steel, masonry, wood, and plastic materials
Technical Math For Dummies by Schoenborn, Barry Simkins, Bradley
ISBN: 9780470605349
Publication Date: 2010
Welding Technology by J. Paulo Davim (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030639853
Publication Date: 2021-02-13
This book presents some developments in the field of welding technology. It starts with classical welding concepts, covering then new approaches. Topics such as ultrasonic welding, robots welding, welding defects and welding quality control are presented in a clear, didactic way. Lower temperature metal-joining techniques such as brazing and soldering are highlighted as well

Hover over "information" icon ( Information icon ) next to each item to see a description.

BlueScope Steel BlueScope Steel is the leading steel company in Australia and New Zealand, supplying a large percentage of all flat steel products sold in these markets.
SafeWork SA Comprehensive site with information and links to OHSW related websites and agencies. Information on Industrial Relations, OHS, Licensing, OHS Legislation and Work Life Balance
State and Commonwealth Acts and Regulations Australasian Legal Institute (Austlii). Access to State and Commonwealth legislation and Regulations. search by Commonwealth or state and by name or A-Z list.
Welding Technology Institute of Australia A searchable database for welding personnel in Australia & links to other usable information.

These databases contain articles that may be relevant to your subject. You can access all of them via our Online Databases page.

ANZRC
Building Code of Australia
Emerald
Knovel : Engineering

See our database guides on the Help page for assistance using these.

To view, you'll be asked for a login - login with your TAFE SA Network account

Australia's National WHS Legislation New Work Health and Safety legislation came into effect in some Australian states and territories on 1st January 2012. It was developed to harmonise the laws affecting workplace safety in Australia by replacing existing state based OH&S legislation. This interview led programme gives a brief history of the development of workplace safety in Australia, the development and need for the new WHS laws, defines key terms in the system, and explains changes to incident notification and offence categories. Craig Salter, from Action OHS consulting, provides clear, detailed explanations of the WHS legislation. A production for the TAFE market and employment sectors, it provides an understanding of the new WHS legislation as well as showing that Workplace safety is a system of change.
Safety in the Workshop : Avoiding Accident and Injury The workshop is an inherently dangerous place and as such safety and safe work practices must be the first priority in the layout of a workshop, and always in the minds of those who use it. This programme examines the main considerations when it comes to safety in the workshop. Using a woodworking workshop to demonstrate universal safety principles, Philip Ashley and Chris Beck from Holmesglen TAFE stress the importance of using safety equipment, setting up a well-designed work area, correct use of hand and power tools, ongoing maintenance and first aid.
Workplace Health and Safety Today's workplaces are becoming more complex and technologically advanced, which is benefiting us all. However, this increased complexity brings new hazards for workers. Employees need to be aware of the potential hazards and risks in their workplaces in order to minimise or eliminate workplace accidents.Through the exploration of scenarios from a number of different industries, this programme looks at the key issues involved in health and safety in the workplace. We investigate common hazards in detail, discuss the overall benefits of safe workplaces and why occupational health and safety is important to everyone. Learn these important lessons before it is too late.

Machining : Cutting Material
Publication Date: 1996
This training film shows the how and why of cutting materials. It covers a wide range of cutting processes from power hacksaws and band saws through to oxyacetylene, plasma arc, water jet, EDM wire cut, laser beam and ultrasonic machining. The processes are fully explained with the aid of computer graphics

To access Australian Standards:
Go to our Online Databases page
Using your current TAFE SA email , sign-up for an individual Techstreet account
Once you receive the Welcome email from Enterprise@Techstreet - set your personal password and download FileOpen and Adobe Acrobat. Details will be in that email.
You then search direct via https://subscriptions.techstreet.com/ Search by Australian Standard Number, Keyword or Subject

Some related standards include:

AS 1796 Certification of welders and welding supervisors

AS 2214 Certification of welding supervisors - Structural steel welding

See our Australian Standards Database Guide for further help.

See instructional video below for accessing Australian Standards via Techstreet - viewers need to login with TAFE SA network account to view this 3 minute training video.