Click on a title to see where that item is held.
You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.
A training handbook for health and medical interpreters in Australia by 
A training handbook for legal interpreters and court interpreters in Australia by 
Conference Interpreting : a trainer's guide by
This companion volume to 'Conference Interpreting - A Complete Course' provides additional recommendations and theoretical and practical discussion for instructors, course designers and administrators. Chapters mirroring the Complete Course offer supplementary exercises, tips on materials selection, classroom practice, feedback and class morale, realistic case studies from professional practice, and a detailed rationale for each stage supported by critical reviews of the literature. Dedicated chapters address the role of theory and research in interpreter training, with outline syllabi for further qualification in interpreting studies at MA or PhD level; the current state of testing and professional certification, with proposals for an overhaul; the institutional and administrative challenges of running a high-quality training course; and designs and opportunities for further and teacher training, closing with a brief speculative look at future prospects for the profession.
Introduction to Healthcare for Arabic-Speaking Interpreters and Translators by 
Introduction to Healthcare for Chinese-Speaking Interpreters and Translators by 
Introduction to Healthcare for Interpreters and Translators by 
Language into language : cultural, legal and linguistic issues for interpreters and translators by 
Police Investigative Interviews and Interpreting by
"There are a substantial number of publications that cover broader cross-cultural communication issues and role of interpreters in court settings. However, the police interview stage in the criminal justice process has received much less attention. The book is a first attempt, to my knowledge, that has examined in detail the dynamics of how interpreters work in police interviews, especially within the current major investigative interviewing paradigms and it fills a significant gap. This book can be a great resource for professional interpreters and law enforcement officers who work with interpreters in investigative interviews"--
BILINGUAL RESOURCES
Deaf Interpreters at Work by
Deaf interpreters: an introduction / Robert Adam, Markus Aro, Juan Carlos Druetta, Senan Dunne, and Juli af Klintberg -- DI(2) = Team interpreting / Stephanie Sforza -- Deaf interpreters: the dynamics of their interpreting processes / Eileen M. Forestal -- Testing times: toward the professionalization of deaf interpreters in Australia / Karen Bontempo, Della Goswell, Patricia Levitzke-Gray, Jemina Napier, and Linda Warby -- Deaf and hearing interpreting team preparation: a study using conversation analysis 90 / Brenda Nicodemus and Marty M. Taylor -- Adverbial morphemes in tactile sign language: deaf-blind interpreting / Steven D. Collins -- Conference interpreting and interpreting teams / Christopher Stone and Debra Russell
English language handbook for speakers of Persian (Farsi) by Click on a title to see where that item is held.
You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.
Click on any title to access the e-book.
See our e-books guide for further help.
Community translation by
Contents include: 1 Community translation: Definitions, characteristics and status quo -- 2 Sociocultural issues in community translation -- 3 Approaches to (community) translation -- 4 Translating official documents -- 5 Translating for temporary communities -- 6 Quality assurance and translation assessment -- 7 Translation revision -- 8 Community translation resources --
Dialogue Interpreting by
Cover -- Half Title -- Title Page -- Copyright Page -- Dedication -- Table of Contents -- List of illustrations -- Acknowledgements -- Permissions -- List of abbreviations -- Introduction -- 1 Scope and purpose of this guide -- 2 Dialogue interpreting: terminology and taxonomy -- 3 Competencies -- 4 Combining independent and collaborative approaches to professional development -- 5 Approach to role -- 6 Ethics -- 7 Statement on materials and their representativeness -- 8 Activities -- 9 Chapter overview -- Notes -- References -- 1 Foundations for continuing professional development
1 Introduction -- 2 Professional development and lifelong learning -- 3 Entering the profession and moving forward -- 4 Professional development planning: getting started -- 5 Professional development planning: empowerment through horizontal learning -- 6 Reflective practice and performance dimensions -- 7 Collaborative approaches to continuing professional development -- 8 Conclusion -- Notes -- References -- Recommended reading -- 2 Legal interpreting I: criminal procedures -- 1 Introduction -- 2 Legal interpreting: settings and modes -- 3 Police interpreting: scope and nature
4 Interpreter-mediated police interviews -- 5 Court interpreting: scope and nature -- 6 Interpreting in court: key issues -- 7 Technology and interpreter mediation in legal settings -- 8 Conclusion -- Notes -- References -- Recommended reading -- 3 Legal interpreting II: asylum procedures -- 1 Introduction -- 2 Interpreting in asylum procedures: settings and modes -- 3 Interpreting in asylum procedures: scope and nature -- 4 Asylum interviews: key concepts -- 5 Interpreter mediation in asylum interviews -- 6 Interpreting for unaccompanied minors in asylum settings
7 Trauma-informed interpreting -- 8 Conclusion -- Notes -- References -- Recommended reading -- 4 Healthcare interpreting -- 1 Introduction -- 2 Healthcare communication: settings and modes in medical interpreting -- 3 Healthcare interpreting: scope and nature -- 4 Sources of professional interpreters' role conflicts -- 5 Professionalization of medical interpreting -- 6 Conclusion -- Notes -- References -- Recommended reading -- 5 Educational interpreting -- 1 Introduction -- 2 Educational interpreting: scope and nature -- 3 Educational interpreting: settings and types of situations
4 Key concepts -- 5 Profiles of ad hoc school interpreters -- 6 Institutional factors: national regulations in different countries -- 7 Case studies -- 8 Conclusion -- Notes -- References -- Recommended reading -- 6 Social care interpreting -- 1 Introduction -- 2 Interpreting in statutory, non-profit and voluntary care services: settings and modes -- 3 Interpreting in statutory social work: scope and nature -- 4 Issues in cross-cultural social work -- 5 Interpreting in social work: key issues -- 6 Child protection and cross-cultural events -- 7 Interpreting in the voluntary and non-profit sectors
Deaf Interpreters at Work : International Insights
Deaf Interpreters at Work -- Deaf Interpreters at Work -- International Insights -- Contents -- Preface -- REFERENCES -- Figures -- Deaf Interpreters: -- DI(2) = Team Interpreting -- Testing Times -- Adverbial Morphemes in Tactile Sign Language -- Tables -- Testing Times -- Deaf and Hearing Interpreting Team Preparation -- Adverbial Morphemes in Tactile Sign Language -- Conference Interpreting and Interpreting Teams -- Deaf Interpreters at Work -- Deaf Interpreters: An Introduction -- RESEARCH TO DATE -- DIs: A New Concept? -- Terminology -- So What Is a Deaf Interpreter? -- What Is the Difference between a DI and a Non-DI? -- Deaf Extralinguistic Knowledge -- When Are DIs Assigned? -- How Are Deaf Interpreters Positioned in Various Interpreting Settings? -- CONCLUSIONS -- ACKNOWLEDGMENTS -- REFERENCES -- DI(2) = Team Interpreting -- DEAF INTERPRETERS -- TEAM INTERPRETING -- THE PARTICIPANTS -- PROCEDURE -- FINDINGS -- "Off," or Nonrendering Interpreter Strategies -- "On," or Rendering Interpreter Strategies -- DISCUSSION -- NOTES -- REFERENCES -- Deaf Interpreters: The Dynamics of Their Interpreting Processes -- THE BEGINNINGS OF DEAF PERSONS WORKING AS INTERPRETERS -- THE EVOLUTION OF DEAF INTERPRETING AS A PROFESSION -- METHODOLOGY -- RESULTS -- Deaf Interpreter-Hearing Interpreter Team Processes -- Power Issues between Team Members -- Strategies and Resources -- Mainstream Model vs. Community Model -- Silence -- Referential Context from the Deaf Consumer -- CONCLUSIONS -- RECOMMENDATIONS -- REFERENCES -- Testing Times: Toward the Professionalization of Deaf Interpreters in Australia -- Project Rationale and Purpose -- IDENTIFYING DI COMPETENCIES -- DI Work Contexts -- Standardized Nomenclature for a Complex Client Category -- TEST FORMAT AND ELIGIBILITY -- Monologic vs. Dialogic Test Construction -- Live vs. Video Format.
Mapping Competencies against Test Tasks -- Eligibility Criteria for Test Admission -- PILOT TESTING AND EVALUATION -- Pilot Test, Stage 1: Video Questions and Live Dialogues -- level of difficulty -- Pilot Test, Stage 2: Video Questions and Video Dialogues -- FINAL TEST PRODUCT, EXAMINER SELECTION, AND EVALUATING CRITERIA -- Test Structure -- introduction and orientation -- first set of four knowledge questions -- consecutive dialogue 1: medical appointment -- second set of four knowledge questions -- consecutive dialogue 2: work-readiness interview -- Examiner Panel Composition -- Grading Criteria -- PHASE 2: TEST ADMINISTRATION, SCORING PROCESS, AND OUTCOMES -- Test Rollout -- Scoring Procedure -- Test Outcomes -- POSTTEST FEEDBACK -- CHALLENGES AND RECOMMENDATIONS -- Pretest Workshops -- pretest recommendations -- Testing Process -- testing recommendations -- Alternate Test -- alternate test recommendation -- Scoring Process -- scoring process recommendations -- Appeals -- appeals recommendation -- Protest -- CONCLUSIONS -- Suggestions for Future DI Training and Testing -- ACKNOWLEDGMENTS -- NOTES -- REFERENCES -- Appendix A: Consultations -- Appendix B: ASLIA/NABS DRICP Scoring Sheet -- Deaf and Hearing Interpreting Team Preparation: A Study Using Conversation Analysis -- TEAM INTERPRETING AND DEAF INTERPRETERS -- THEORETICAL FRAMEWORK: CONVERSATION ANALYSIS -- Openings -- Turn Taking -- Adjacency Pairs -- Repairs -- Closings -- METHODOLOGY -- ANALYSIS -- RESULTS -- Opening -- Turn Taking -- Adjacency Pairs -- Repairs -- Closings -- CONCLUSION -- ACKNOWLEDGMENTS -- REFERENCES -- Appendix A -- Adverbial Morphemes in Tactile Sign Language: Deaf-Blind Interpreting -- CODING AND MAINTENANCE OF THE VIDEOTAPES AND DATABASE -- FINDINGS AND INTERPRETATION -- Semantic-Based Categories -- Manner and Degree -- Time -- Duration -- Frequency -- Purpose.
Place/Position/Direction -- OVERALL PATTERNS AMONG THE VARIOUS ADVERBIAL TYPES -- SUMMARY, CONCLUSIONS, AND RECOMMENDATIONS -- NOTES -- REFERENCES -- Conference Interpreting and Interpreting Teams -- THE STUDY -- Participants -- Phase One: Interpreting Work -- Findings from the Interpreting Work -- Phase Two: Semistructured Interviews -- CATEGORIES AND THEMES -- Team Collaboration -- LIMITATIONS OF THE STUDY AND FUTURE RESEARCH QUESTIONS -- CONCLUSION --
For more free online e-books check out Translation Journal's free e-book resources.
Hover over "information" icon (
) next to each item to see a description.
The Australian and New Zealand Reference Centre database contains magazine, journal and newspaper articles that may be relevant to your subject. You can access all of them free via our Online Databases page.
See our database guides for help using these.
A selection of peer-reviewed open access journals, i.e., they do not charge readers for access.
