|
Welcome and orientation video for TAFE SA library services 26 mins. We have a self-paced 'Exploring TAFE SA Libraries’ LEARN page: https://learn.tafesa.edu.au/course/view.php?id=12204#section-0 |
|
|
|
|
Latest news for Interior Design/Decoration
ABCB Handbook for Livable Housing Design
This handbook provides guidance on the NCC requirements for livable housing design, including the ABCB Standard for Livable Housing Design.
Source: https://www.abcb.gov.au/resource/handbook/abcb-handbook-livable-housing-design
Unlike the 2024 Color of the Year selections, the 2025 picks reveal more commonalities among the colors chosen by major paint industry leaders. Each year, designers and enthusiasts from various fields gather within companies worldwide to reignite the conversation about color and its connection to contemporary culture. For the 2025 forecast, earth tones seem to be the big winners: Pantone's Mousse Chocolate is joined by cinnamon, brown, and burgundy shades from Benjamin Moore, Graham & Brown, Behr, and C2 Paint. Companies like AkzoNobel, Valspar, and Comex opted for more vibrant colors to celebrate optimism and joy, while Sherwin-Williams and Jotun didn't limit themselves to a single color. Instead, they introduced entire palettes centered on tranquility and relaxation. These concepts appear to be the guiding themes for 2025.
Source: 2025 Color Trends in Architecture: Embracing Earth Tones and Vibrant Hues | ArchDaily
Designing For Neurodiversity Inclusion
About 15% to 20% of people exhibit some form of neurodivergence, including autism, ADHD, and dyslexia. They have varying sensory and cognitive needs that require accommodations in the built environment. Lighting, sound, texture, quality and color of light, spatial layout, and the shape and function of the furniture can significantly impact their experience of a space.
Source:
Breaking the Standards: 10 Architects Who Are Daring in their Color Palettes
“Colors are much more than just aesthetics. They can tamper with the sensations a space conveys, how we perceive the environment, and even comfort issues. With so many factors that they can influence, using them is not an easy task, and that is why many architects choose to stick with the classic white, grayscale, or even exposed materials to avoid any possible visual conflict. However, some architectural practices dare to use bold color palettes and create unique works that stand out precisely because of how colors help compose the project.”
Read more:
Art Deco
Art deco is a design style from the 1920s and 1930s in furniture, decorative arts and architecture characterised by its geometric character
Source: https://www.tate.org.uk/art/art-terms/a/art-deco
Billauer, Barbara P., When Did Art Deco Begin? The Role of the Secessionist Movement (August 8, 2013). Trans Lux, The Journal of the Art Deco Society of Washington, 2013,
Available at SSRN: https://ssrn.com/abstract=2307355
Litchfield, Frederik 1903, Illustrated History of Furniture, Truslove & Hanson, London
"This book represents an account of the changes in the design of Decorative Furniture and Woodwork, from the earliest period of which we have any reliable or certain record until the present time. A careful selection of illustrations and the representations of the different "interiors" will convey an idea of the character and disposition of the furniture of the periods to which they refer. Illustrations are arranged in chronological order, and the descriptions are explanatory of the historical and social changes which have influenced the manners and customs, and directly or indirectly affected the Furniture of different nations."
Source:
https://www.merlot.org/merlot/viewMaterial.htm?id=557565
https://archive.org/details/illustratedhisto00litcrich
The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
“The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and journals, image databases, and information on organizations, museums and research facilities. Made possible by the Chipstone Foundation, the site was created and is maintained at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries”
Source:
https://www.library.wisc.edu/decorativearts/text-sources/browse-by-subject/
https://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/LXEMQRWNML2C48G
https://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/LUA24H3PMOGCK8E
https://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/4EUDQX4ZS33VG8F
Interiors of Today: 17 Projects that Show How Current Cities and Living Trends are Influencing Modern Interior Architecture
“Evident changes in traditional workspaces have been observed during the past decade: startup culture, freelancing, the "Great Resignation", and the infamous two years of working from home. Following a completely unexpected confinement period, employees had to find ways to integrate offices into their houses. Not all of them had an extra room to spare, so they either squeezed in a desk in the corner of the living room or bedroom, or transformed their dining table into an office desk, completely disregarding ergonomics, privacy, and wellbeing. For that reason, post 2020, architects began implementing a radical modification of how and where people work and live, especially in small-scale housing projects.”
Source:
Matching Color
“Color charts, created as early as the 1600s, included color samples and names, providing a standard for others to follow. These charts helped naturalists to identify plants and animals and helped manufacturers to produce consistent dyes and paints.
The mass production of synthetic dyes in the 1800s demanded improved color-classification systems. A variety of color models and instruments were created; many are still in use today. However, color remains elusive to scientists and color experts, who have yet to discover a truly uniform color model.”
Source:
https://library.si.edu/exhibition/color-in-a-new-light/matching
The Fundamentals of Understanding Color Theory
Graphic designers, marketing professionals, and entrepreneurs will find use in "The Fundamentals of Understanding Color Theory," an article by Kris Decker from Vistaprint's graphic design service, 99designs. The term "color theory" covers many things; it can be a practical guide to color mixing and the visual effects of color combination, the study of how people perceive color, the analysis of what certain colors communicate, and more. Pointing out that consumers decide whether or not they like a product within 90 seconds, and that decisions are largely based on color, this light-hearted, beginner-friendly article provides an overview of how to best utilize all aspects of color theory to build a brand. It explains two models for color mixing - additive for digital content and subtractive for print - and the importance of understanding the difference. The article also discusses how to use the familiar color wheel to understand the concepts of primary, secondary, and tertiary colors; aspects of color such as hue, shade, tint, and tone; and the three basic color schemes for design: complementary, analogous, and triadic. "The Fundamentals of Understanding Color Theory" closes with additional resources on how to choose logo color, emotional associations with color, the psychology behind color choices, and examples of how bad color design can make your overall design difficult to utilize, understand, read, or even look at. In all, this article neatly summarizes why readers should care about color theory. [RMP] Copyright © 2021 Internet Scout Research Group - http://scout.wisc.edu
Read more:
https://99designs.com.au/blog/tips/the-7-step-guide-to-understanding-color-theory/
Color Theory : From the Art of Education University
Art teachers at the elementary and middle-school levels will want to check out the articles, videos, and other resources on color theory available from The Art of Education University (featured in the 11-20-2020 Scout Report), a fully online graduate university offering accredited degrees for art teachers. The resources were created by experienced art teachers to facilitate art education through lesson plans, activity ideas, and games for the classroom. For instance, the article "You Don't Have to Teach the Color Wheel Anymore," describes this outdated concept for exposing students to color theory and offers four engaging and nuanced alternatives. Another article, "7 Ways to Use Paint Chips in the Art Room," offers activity ideas using those free color palettes from the paint section of any hardware store. Many lesson plans include downloadable content for use in the classroom, although readers should note that they must create a free account to access these downloads. Art teachers can also check out other resources on the site for topics such as classroom management, technology, and teaching philosophies. [MJZ] Copyright © 2021 Internet Scout Research Group - http://scout.wisc.edu
Read more:
4 Quick and Creative Color Theory Activities - The Art of Education University
How Color Affects Learning: The findings of these three color studies could change how you approach classroom activities
From:T H E Journal (Technological Horizons In Education) (Vol. 45, Issue 3)
Can color evoke a level of motivation or affect a student without them ever being aware? Rash something red in front of students before they tackle a test and they may end up doing worse. Expose them to blue and it could inspire creativity. Let them study a green landscape and their concentration might rise.
The impact of color on human behavior has long been a topic of interest among researchers in business, marketing and psychology. They want to understand how tweaking product, packaging and advertising design can boost sales. Now researchers have also shown interest in education to determine how color affects learning.
https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A546649454/ITOF?u=tafesa&sid=ITOF&xid=d12179c0
Dulux BIM Solutions provides easy to use BIM content and Add-Ins so you can add Dulux colours and product ranges to Autodesk® Revit® and GRAPHISOFT ® Archicad ® models quickly and simply.
The expanded offer now includes over 6,500 colours and product ranges from Dulux World of Colour, Dulux Powders Coatings, Protective Coatings, AcraTex and Intergrain Timber finishes, that are available in a download option to suit your needs. And they’re FREE!
Source:
https://www.dulux.com.au/specifier/services-and-programs/bim
Designing experiences through sensory engagement
Rosie Morley, principal at Fender Katsalidis, discusses the pertinence of human-centred design and tantalising the senses in the mission to create transformative environments.
“How one approaches and the way they depart are among the most important aspects to consider in design. This ‘arrivals and departures’ methodology isn’t merely an aesthetic – it’s about curating how a space should feel, crafting an immersive, engaging and tactile quality that adds a certain grit or depth”
Read more:
https://www.indesignlive.com/the-ideas/designing-experiences-through-sensory-engagement
‘Living Edge’, the power of light is paramount within any space
The Australian brand’s portfolio of extraordinary lighting products extends beyond its simple form and function. Featuring renowned names and brands from every corner of the globe, their light offering showcases expertly designed pieces that inspire and enrich the ways in which we perceive light on a daily basis.
The celebrated brand is known for its long history supplying iconic designer furniture, accessories and lighting to architects, interior designers and enthusiasts alike. In this edition of the Indesign Edit, we focus on some of the most captivating lighting products that Living Edge has to offer.
https://www.indesignlive.com/edit/the-indesign-edit-lights-that-shine-from-living-edge
Bedroom Design Trends
Australian product designer Sarah Ellison and London digital creative Charlotte Taylor have teamed up on ultimate bedroom dreamscapes as an antidote to the harsh reality of 2020. The creative campaign accompanies the launch of Sarah’s first bedframe ‘Yoko’ amidst the backdrop of a global pandemic. When Sarah was unable to create the usual physical studio sets with her creative team due to pandemic lockdowns, she saw the perfect opportunity to build an original story to support her new product launch in an inventive way.
Source: https://www.yellowtrace.com.au/yoko-bed-sarah-ellison-charlotte-taylor-dreamy-bedroom-scenes/
Paris Design Week 2020 Recap
Paris Design Week 2020 took place across the French capital as a combination of real and virtual events between 3rd to 12th September. Maison & Objet fair was presented in an entirely digital format, while the showrooms and galleries around the city took the traditional approach
https://www.yellowtrace.com.au/paris-design-week-2020-highlights/
https://www.maison-objet.com/en/paris-design-week
Happy Hues is a fun color resource perfect for website designers or any project requiring a color palette. The resource offers a curated collection with about 17 pre-selected color schemes. As users scroll down the landing page, the resource begins by introducing visitors to basic color concepts, including: hue, tint, and saturation. Next, the site delves into the psychology of color, discussing the ways primary colors (red, yellow, and blue) make people feel. For example, red is described as "a very emotionally and visually intense color that can actually have a physical effect on people by raising their metabolism, respiration, heart rate," while yellow is associated with a wide range of feelings from "happiness" to "anxiety." Secondary colors (green, orange, and purple) get similar treatment, as do the neutral colors white and black. Happy Hues was created by designer Mackenzie Child in 2019
Interview: Australian Industrial Designer Tom Skeehan.
“Following the unveiling of a major studio rebrand, Dana chats with Canberra-based industrial designer and founder of SKEEHAN about his commitment to material research, business challenges in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic, a design process that involves "extensive model making, heaps of sketching, weird experiments", and why spray-painting your shoes in gold is never a good idea.
Read More:
https://www.yellowtrace.com.au/australian-industrial-designer-tom-skeehan-interview/
2020 Australian Interior Design Awards: Interior Design Impact
This award recognizes the transformative effect that design can have on a building’s occupants and the wider community within the Australian context, and which deliver exceptional outcomes made possible by the optimism of good design thinking and thoughtful collaboration between the design practice and client groups. This year the jury unanimously agreed that the project which most completely embodied the ambitions of this award is StudioFive, a teaching, research and engagement centre in the Melbourne Graduate School of Education.
Read more:
https://architectureau.com/articles/2020-australian-interior-design-awards-interior-design-impact
2020 Australian Interior Design Awards: Residential Design
“Budge Over Dover is a beautiful project that displays a consistency between the interior design and styling that reveals complete unity of big picture ideas. The jury especially commended the designer for showing great skill in working with the existing building fabric, which resulted in a radical transformation that never battles against the original structure, but instead feels completely natural and effortless.
The exquisite palette of materials, colours, textures and accents uniquely responds to the client’s brief without relying on a conventional vernacular and the result is completely unexpected, while still being restrained and elegant.”
Read more:
https://architectureau.com/articles/2020-australian-interior-design-awards-residential-design/
Sight Unseen Launches 'Offsite Online' Design Fair.
For 2020, online magazine's Sight Unseen Offsite becomes Offsite Online, as the editors take their acclaimed cutting-edge design fair into the digital space.
Read more:
https://www.yellowtrace.com.au/sight-unseen-launches-offsite-online-design-fair/
The Sitcoms That Changed the Way We Decorate Our Homes
“There are few things as soothing during a pandemic (or anytime) as sitcoms. These slices of someone else’s (usually much funnier) daily life are the perfect escape—where all problems can be neatly resolved within 22 minutes. Part of the sitcom comfort factor involves sitting in your home watching your favorite characters in their homes: It somehow feels intimate. And whether or not we realize it, our personal interior design styles are likely influenced by at least one of our favorite shows.”
Read more:
https://www.architecturaldigest.com/story/golden-girls-friends-influence-on-design-trends
Sculptural apartment building was designed to evoke a ship
https://www.curbed.com/2020/3/31/21196307/apartment-building-design-wooden-louvers-gg-loop
Who Wouldn’t Love Washing Their Hands Here?
https://www.yellowtrace.com.au/covid-19-wash-hands-amazing-skinks-bathroom-design-details/
Highlights From Collectible Design Fair 2020 In Brussels
The 3rd annual edition of COLLECTIBLE, the pioneering fair dedicated exclusively to the 21st-century contemporary collectible design, returned to the Vanderborght building in Brussels for its third edition earlier this month.
Experimental in its approach, COLLECTIBLE design fair is one of a kind platform for the showcase and discovery of the best in collectible design today. Seeking to continuously push the boundaries of creativity, the fair brings together established and emerging galleries, designers and design studios in a dynamic integrated space and collaborates with leading curators, design institutions and foundations to deliver ground-breaking commissions and curated projects
https://www.yellowtrace.com.au/best-of-collectible-design-fair-2020-brussels-object-design/
Influential Buildings
Aesthetica selects ten inspiring 20th century buildings from around the world – offering examples of shifting architectural movements and key names to know
https://aestheticamagazine.com/10-influential-buildings-to-know/
0 Comments.