This is your guide to resources and information on Civil Engineering, provided by your TAFE SA Libraries.
We'll post new info on this front page first. Go to the Resources tab for a more in-depth listing of resources.
We have a self-paced 'Exploring TAFE SA Libraries’ LEARN page: https://learn.tafesa.edu.au/course/view.php?id=12204#section-0
You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.
Search the full library catalogue using the button above.
Come back here often to check what's new!
NEW Access Knovel - General Engineering Database
Knovel is a searchable database of thousands of references within General Engineering.
Content includes full-text technical books and research articles, including reference handbooks, relevant to Energy Efficiency, Engineering Principles, General References, Manufacture & Processing, Materials and Systems Engineering.
Knovel also provides over 100 mathematical equation tools, a unit conversion tool with tables and graphs that allow users to manipulate, analyse, and export data
Knovel can be accessed via TAFE SA library databases
Or/
directly via personal Registration https://shorturl.at/Rftsw
Complete the form and sign up using your TAFE SA email address
Towards safer and more liveable urban streets Transport Australia Society | December 2024
A discussion paper by the Transport Australia society about designing urban streets to improve safety for pedestrians and cyclists, without unduly restricting other vehicle movement.
Source:
https://www.engineersaustralia.org.au/publications/towards-safer-and-more-liveable-urban-streets
Basics of Fluid Mechanics/Genick Bar-Meir
The topic of fluid mechanics is common to several disciplines: mechanical engineering, aerospace engineering, chemical engineering, and civil engineering. In fact, it is also related to disciplines like industrial engineering, and electrical engineering. While the emphasis is somewhat different in this book, the common material is presented and hopefully can be used by all.
Source:
https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/textbooks/basics-of-fluid-mechanics
PDF:
https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/formats/878
McConnell Dowell builds on its digital engineering capabilities
...One project currently underway that is digitally enabled is The Queen Elizabeth Hospital (TQEH) Stage 3 Redevelopment in South Australia. Built Environs, the building business unit of McConnell Dowell, is delivering the project with all the key design and construct (D&C) trades and modelling hosted on a web-based common data environment. This provides the project team the visibility of a live, in progress virtual model of the entire project.
“We can see at any point in time how the design and trade models are progressing,” says Theis. “The model is the first point of call for the project team.”
Read more:
Designs released for World's tallest timber hotel tower
Cox Architecture has designed a tower in Adelaide’s city centre set to become the world’s tallest timber hotel.
To be located at 187 Victoria Square, the proposed tower will sit behind and on top of the existing building also known as Beacon House, which has been described as Adelaide’s first post-war skyscraper.
Covering 31 storeys and rising 100 metres above the ground, the tower will accommodate 324 hotel rooms, 22 apartments, a “sky terrace” on the twelfth level, and a rooftop bar.
https://architectureau.com/articles/designs-released-for-worlds-tallest-timber-hotel-tower
Precast early cracking: Why does this keep happening?
Early cracking in concrete can be defined as developing with in the first 7 days after casting or placement. It’s a common problem, so much so that it may not be given much attention in the field. It is certainly the focus of much industry discussion, however, and if you’re actively involved in mix design or project coordination, we’re not telling you much you didn’t already know.
In the context of precast concrete, it might be logical to believe that the superior control of the conditions under which the concrete is poured, result in consistently superior results and reduced cracking. Unfortunately, in the real world, this isn’t necessarily the case.
Source:
http://www.benp.com.au/databases/news/20/02/markhamglobal_precast_early_cracking.html
Roads, highways and motorways
Roads can be among the most challenging environments for drainage systems, but the dangers of an improperly drained road surface can be severe.
Standing water can cause vehicles to aquaplane, which frequently results in the driver losing control. At worst, it can result in a serious road accident.
Drainage products face the same challenge as the road surface itself, the action of cars and trucks travelling, braking and turning imposes severe stress.
Trench drainage can be integrated to solve several unique challenges. They include:
Each application will require a unique configuration to ensure proper drainage.
Read more:
https://createdigital.org.au/how-5-industry-applications-deal-with-drainage/
Concrete Fabrication of the iconic roof of the Sydney Opera House
“By shedding light on the contribution of local ingenuity and craftsmanship in the making of one
of the most celebrated buildings in the world, this paper reveals the largely unacknowledged, detailed complexity behind the fabrication of the iconic roof of the Sydney Opera House.
“So far as I can see, it would not be easy to
calculate and detail your plans so as to give justice
to your ideas with full clarity and still make
them economically possible. Nor do I believe
you can count on Australian workmen and Australian
technical resources being on the same
level as the Danish”. (OveArup to Jørn Utzon) (Murray 2004: 12)
Although Jörn Utzon and Ove Arup candidly expressed their reservations on Australian know-how, Australian workers and technical resources were crucial for the construction of the Sydney Opera House (SOH) in the 1960s. Indeed, while it might not have been so evident in the eyes of the two Danes in 1957, Australia possessed a long and solid tradition in concrete,
the main material employed in the production of the shells considered the most striking feature of Jörn Utzon’s winning design. By shedding light on the contribution of local ingenuity
and craftsmanship in the making of one of the most celebrated buildings in the world, this paper takes Arup’s words to task, in the process revealing the largely unacknowledged, detailed complexity behind the fabrication of the iconic roof of the SOH.
The first attempts to build with concrete in Australia date from the late 1800s and, by the early 1900s, had also come to concern the erection of important nation-building infrastructures such as the Melbourne Public Library (1906)...”
Read more:
https://www.unsworks.unsw.edu.au/primo-explore/fulldisplay/unsworks_modsunsworks_76849/UNSWORKS
What can engineers take away from the IPCC report?
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change “Engineers will play a vital role in cutting emissions to mitigate extreme climate change,” says Engineers Australia CEO Dr Bronwyn Evans.
Read more:
https://createdigital.org.au/report-highlights-need-for-engineers-on-climate-change
Reinforced Concrete Walls seismic design and detailing to AS 1170.4 and AS 3600
“This paper reviews the current seismic design procedures for reinforced concrete buildings in Australia, with direct reference to the Australian earthquake loading code, AS 1170.4 and Australian concrete structures standard, AS 3600. The paper aims to clarify seismic design procedures to practising structural engineers and undergraduate students in Australia, whom have had little exposure to seismic design given the lower seismic nature of Australia. The paper begins with a brief history of seismic design in Australia, followed by an overview and discussion of the seismic performance objectives required by the National Construction Code (i.e. Building Code of Australia). Following, a comprehensive discussion of ductility factors for RC wall structures and associated detailed practices to comply with the ductility assumptions assumed when performing analysis procedures set out in AS 1170.4 is presented. The emphasis herein has been placed on issues with the detailing of RC wall structures, as these structures form the majority of low-, mid- and high-rise multistorey buildings in Australia. Common detailing practices for RC walls that can significantly limit the seismic response are discussed and guidance for designers is presented. The paper is concluded by providing recommendations for the seismic design of RC wall structures in Australia”
Source:
How one engineer is perfecting the moving parts of bulk materials handling
“People are recognising that you don’t just draw a line on a detailed drawing and that’s it,” says the University of Newcastle's Dr Jayne O’Shea.
Source:
https://www.createdigital.org.au/engineer-finding-better-ways-bulk-handling-work
Expanding coastal cities – Proof of feasibility for modular floating structures (MFS)
“Land scarcity in and around coastal cities is a growing problem in both industrialized and developing nations. The lack of development areas increases the tension between infrastructure needs, urban needs and nature – impacting both growth and quality of life. This study advocates that floating structures can offer a unique avenue to explore new and sustainable ways of addressing these issues. Recognizing that no comprehensive analysis or study on the legal requirements needed for the realization of such projects has yet been conducted, the study's first aim is to define the required design guidelines by synthesizing statutory requirements, building codes and international regulations…”
Read more:
https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jclepro.2019.03.007
Engineering Design Featuring the Life Cycle Approach for Reconfigurable Machine Tool
“The evolution of design has come of age and the new design approaches that look at the rapid change and short life cycles of products is taking the centre stage. Competitiveness and the cost of products determine the lifeline of an organisation. The traditional machine tools such as the dedicated and flexible machines are designed on the principle of machine design. The development of reconfigurable machines seeks a new approach to design that not only encompasses the existing approaches but should include new design approaches as well. The success of a designed product maybe measured by the capability of the system that produces it. It is critical when designing a product that the organisation’s technological and manufacturing system capabilities be considered as failure to do so may lead to production designs that are not manufacturable….”
Read more:
https://doi.org/10.1016/j.procir.2019.04.174
Treating reinforcement corrosion in parking structures
“Parking garages are an integral part of our nation’s infrastructure. Although they are subject to more deterioration than other building types, their maintenance is typically not considered of primary importance to building owners or managers, who often are compelled to prioritize high-profile façade issues or roof leaks above a patch or two of unsightly concrete. Still, deferred maintenance eventually means costly repairs. One of the greatest issues related to the deterioration of parking structures is the corrosion of embedded reinforcement.
Structural concrete used in parking structures is strengthened by means of steel reinforcement bars, which are embedded into the concrete to improve resistance to tensile and compressive stresses….”
Read more:
https://www.constructionspecifier.com/treating-reinforcement-corrosion-in-parking-structures/
0 Comments.