LibGuides: Children's Education and Care Subject Guide: Children's Health & Safety

Resources in the library

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

AMH Children's dosing companion 2014 /Australian Medicine's Handbook
ISBN: 9780987550149
Publication Date: 2014
Children and their families : the continum of care by Vicky R Bowden, Cindy Smith Greenberg
ISBN: 9780781760720
Publication Date: 2010
Early Sprouts by Dottie Bauer; Karrie Kalich; Deirdre McPartlin
ISBN: 9781933653723
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Ensure the health and safety of children : CHCECE002 by TASFESA
ISBN: 9781742821511
Publication Date: 2014
Establish and maintain a safe and healthy environment for children CHCECE016 by Davis, Kirsten
ISBN: 9781742821757
Publication Date: 2014
Health, Safety and Nutrition for the Young Child by Lynn R. Marotz
ISBN: 9781285427331
Publication Date: 2014
Health in early childhood settings : from emergencies to the common cold by Frank Oberklaid
ISBN: 1876138173
Publication Date: 2004
Healthy Children by Coralie Mathews
ISBN: 0729537498
Publication Date: 2004-08-06
Identify and respond to children and young people at risk : CHCPRT001 by TAFESA
ISBN: 9781742821481
Publication Date: 2014
Managing infectious diseases in child care and schools by American Academy of Pediatrics Staff
ISBN: 1581102666
Publication Date: 2008
Nurturing young minds by Ramesh Manocha, Gyongi Horvath (ed)
ISBN: 9780733639104
Publication Date: 2017
A practical guide to working with children by Egle C
ISBN: 0864583788
Publication Date: 2005
Safety, Nutrition and Health in Early Education by Cathie Robertson
ISBN: 9781305088900
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Work collaboratively to maintain an environment safe for children and young people CHCPRT003
ISBN: 9781742821528
Publication Date: 2014

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Australasian journal of early childhood

Young children

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Severe allergy management : living with the risk of anaphylaxis Daily management of severe allergy is a community health issue. Being aware and learning how best to avoid the allergic triggers is key to good daily management of those at risk of anaphylaxis. This DVD gives allergy facts and the difference between allergy and intolerance, how to recognise the symptoms of an allergic reaction and how to treat anaphylaxis when it occurs.

Online resources

Click on any title to access the e-book.
See our e-books guide for further help.

Better health for our children [e-book] : a guide for parents by Dominic A Fitzgerald
ISBN: 9780909278113
Publication Date: 2012
The Big Book of Symptoms [e-book] : A-Z Guide to Your Child's Health by Steven Shelov, Shelly Vaziri Flais
ISBN: 9781581108330
Publication Date: 2014
Children and young people at risk by Justin Healy
ISBN: 9781921507397
Publication Date: 2011
Healthy Eating for Kids by Anita Bean
ISBN: 9781408104149
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Kid's Food Allergies For Dummies [e-book] by Mimi Tang, Katie Allen
ISBN: 9780730308034
Publication Date: 2013

Hover over "information" icon () next to each item to see a description.

ACECQA Australian Children's Education and Care Quality Authority
ACECQA National Quality Framework Quality Area 2 : Children's Health and Safety
Allergy and Anaphylaxis Australia A&AA develops a variety of resources and educational materials; organises workshops and seminars across Australia; and continues to work with government departments to develop guidelines on recognising, managing and the emergency treatment of anaphylaxis in preschool and school settings.
ASCIA Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy ASCIA Mission Advance the science and practice of allergy and clinical immunology, by promoting the highest standard of medical practice, training, education and research, to improve the health and quality of life of people with allergic diseases, immunodeficiencies and other immune diseases.
Asthma Australia
Child and Youth Health: Safety and First Aid An online resource containing information on parenting, child and youth health in relation to safety and first aid
Early Childhood Australia Children's Health and Nutrition Learning about healthy lifestyles contributes to children’s sense of wellbeing and builds their confidence in themselves. Adults can help children learn about healthy eating, hygiene and how to keep fit and active. As children become more independent, they can take greater responsibility for their own health, safety and wellbeing.
Kidsafe Australia Kidsafe was first established in 1979 as the Child Accident Prevention Foundation of Australia (CAPFA). State divisions were established soon after. The name Kidsafe was adopted nationally in 1993. In July 2003, the Foundation adopted a federated structure, with each of the state branches becoming independently Incorporated Associations. Since the establishment of Kidsafe, the number of child deaths and hospitalisations has more than halved. Injuries are the leading cause of death in Australian children aged one to fourteen, accounting for nearly half of all deaths in this age group.
Kisdafe Australia :A Parent's Guide to Kidsafe Homes Each year about 200 Australian children (aged 0-14 years) die1 and 59,000 hospitalised2 as a result of unintentional injuries – the kind often referred to as ‘accidents‘. Many of these can be prevented.
Playground safety Playgrounds and outdoor play equipment offer kids fresh air, friends, and exercise. So it's important for parents and carers to make sure that faulty equipment, improper surfaces, and careless behavior don't ruin the fun.
Raising Children network : Choking prevention & Choking risks Choking risks for babies and toddlers include objects smaller than a D-size battery. Keep small objects out of reach until your child is less likely to choke. This is usually around three years of age.
Red Nose (SIDS) Safe Sleeping Brochures
Safely administering medications ; a guide for chidcare service providers With the increase in contagious infections and diseases to be seen in most child care services at this time of year, it's only natural that more child care workers will be administering medication.
Safe sleep for babies : Health Direct Infants spend a lot of time sleeping, so it is important that their sleeping area is safe. Medical and child safety experts have identified quite a few hazards when infants are sleeping or trying to sleep, and found that certain things can help reduce the risk of death and injuries.
SafeWork SA
SA Health: Exclusion from childcare, preschool, school and work The spread of certain infectious diseases can be reduced by excluding a person, known to be infectious, from contact with others who are at risk of catching the infection. The following are recommended minimum periods of exclusion from school, preschool and childcare centres for cases of, and contact with, infectious diseases, based on guidelines issued by the National Health and Medical Research Council in December 2005 and the online Australian Immunisation Handbook. These guidelines can also be applied to the general community and most workplaces. A childcare worker with gastroenteritis (also known as 'gastro': inflammation of the intestinal (bowels)), should not return to work for at least 24 hours after vomiting or diarrhoea have stopped.
SA Health : You've got what? Diseases described have been included because they occur commonly or because they cause particular concern in the community (the names used are those by which these conditions are commonly known)
Staying Healthy: Preventing infectious diseases in early childhood education and care services (5th Edition) Staying Healthy provides educators and other staff working in education and care services with simple and effective methods for minimising the spread of disease. It contains more ‘how to’ advice on procedures and discussing exclusion periods with parents. At the bottom of the webpage is the link to download this title in pdf format. hard copies of 5th ed 2012 are available in the library
Women's and Children's Health Network : Safety and First Aid Safety & First Aid Information on how to protect your children from everyday hazards, and how to respond to medical emergencies...
Women's and Children's Hospital : Burns Service and Information The Burns Service at the WCH provides inpatient and outpatient treatment for children from birth to eighteen years who have been injured by burning. We treat approximately 150 inpatients and 450 outpatients each year including patients from South Australia, Northern Territory and western parts of New South Wales and Victoria.

These databases contain articles that may be relevant to your subject. You can access all of them via our Online Databases page.

Australian and New Zealand Reference Centre
Gale Health and Wellness
Gale General OneFile

To search for Australian Standards (TechStreet):

Go to our Online Databases page
Log in to your library account
Select the Australian Standards (TechStreet) link
Create your account and sign-in
Search by Australian Standard Number, Keyword or Subject

See our Australian Standards Database Guide for further help, or contact your library.