LibGuides: Horticulture Subject Guide: Resources

Online Resources

Click on any title to access the e-book.
See our e-books guide for further help.

Basic GIS Coordinates 2nd edn. by Jan Van Sickle
ISBN: 9781420092325

Basic GIS Coordinates, Second Edition clearly illustrates the basic principles of coordinate systems, covering ellipsoids, datums, and plane coordinates as they are used in GIS and GPS.
Life in a Gall by Rosalind Blanche
ISBN: 9780643106444

Gall-inducing insects and their host plants; Remarkable adaptations; Enemies of gall-inducing insects; Problems caused by gall-inducing insects; Benefits associated with gall-inducing insects
Organic and Genetically Modified Food
ISBN: 9781925339116

This book addresses two often misunderstood agricultural production methods - organic and genetically modified food. What are the actual ethical, environmental and nutritional differences between organic and conventionally-produced food?
Plant Names : A Guide to Botanical Nomenclature.
ISBN: 9781486311453

An introduction to the world of plant names and how to write, pronounce and remember them.
Soils for Landscape Development by Elke Haege
ISBN: 9780643109650

Provides a clear, practical template for specifying landscape soils based on scientific criteria.
Sustainable Land Management
ISBN: 9781921507564

Almost two-thirds of land in Australia has been modified for human use, primarily for grazing on natural vegetation. Clearing of native vegetation continues to occur for agriculture, plantation forestry, and urban development

Adelaide Botanic Gardens
The Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium of South Australia comprises three beautiful public gardens – Adelaide Botanic Garden (and Botanic Park) in the city of Adelaide, Mount Lofty Botanic Garden in the Adelaide Hills and Wittunga Botanic Garden in suburban Blackwood.
Australian Institute of Horticulture
From an interested group of horticulturists in Canberra in 1953 the Institute became an incorporated association in 1960 to represent professional horticulturists.
Australian National Botanic Gardens
The Australian National Botanic Gardens, on the lower slopes of Black Mountain in Canberra, has the world’s most comprehensive display of living Australian native plants. A place for recreation, inspiration, science and learning.
Australian Native Plants Society
The Australian Native Plants Society (Australia) – ANPSA – is an association of state and territory based native plant Societies. As such, it caters for people interested in Australia’s native flora whether that interest is simple appreciation of the beauty and diversity of the flora or whether it extends to propagation, cultivation and conservation.
Hort Innovation
Creating a sustainability framework for Australian horticulture
NASAA OrganicTHE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR SUSTAINABLE AGRICULTURE AUSTRALIA
As Australia’s original organic industry association we are proud to provide market and industry development, advocacy, education, policy and advice services. This includes the NASAA Organic and Biodynamic Standard and Australia’s most internationally recognised Australian organic certification label, NASAA Certified Organic.
Sustainable Gardening Australia
At Sustainable Gardening Australia (SGA) we are passionate about the natural environment and know that through gardening all of us can help achieve our mission of a healthy, biodiverse planet and vibrant, sustainable communities.
Weeds Australia
To identify a weed from scratch, use the Centre’s WeedScan web application or app to identify over 450 priority and other weeds using our computer vision matching weed ID tool.

Chemwatch
Chemwatch is a database which porvides a safe and reliable way of managing chemicals.
Pest ID Database
This pest identification tool is brought to you by Nursery & Garden Industry Queensland. It is provided to assist nursery producers in identifying and treating pest insects, diseases, disorders and weeds. It also includes information on beneficial insects as biocontrol treatments.

you will need a password obtained from the TAFESA Urrbrae Library. It is limited to 20 licences at a time only.
PUCRIS
Public Chemical Registration Information Systems is a searchable database for details including product name, registering company, active constituents and product category.
Safe Work Australia
HCIS is a database of chemical classifications and workplace exposure standards.

Videos

Horticulturalist
Meet Tayshan, a garden designer from London. Tyashan discovered gardening after the Grenfell Tower fire in 2017 for the way it helped to bring his community back together.
Rachel's Farm
Use this documentary to explore the ecological impacts of conventional agriculture, and the importance of regenerating and restoring the health of our soils, food, climate, and farming communities.
Transportation systems in plants
This program explores why many multicellular plants have specialised internal transport systems, while looking at what a transport system is, how plants get their nutrition, and the structure and function of root hairs.

Garden designer inspiration
Renowed international garden designer, Paul Bangay, shares his garden design tips, memories and inspirations from his new book Paul Bangay, A Life in Garden Design.

PlantFile Tutorial by Peter Kirkland

PlantFile is a comprehensive database on the cultivation, management, pests, diseases, and of plants, with extensive images. It is relevant to horticulture, conservation, landscape design and floristry.

Horticulture Subject Guide

Look for Resources

Databases

Your Librarian

Online Resources

Videos