LibGuides: Automotive Subject Guide: Resources

Resources in the library

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how

Search the full library catalogue using the button above, or click on a title below to see where that item is held

4. 6L and 5. 4L Ford Engines: How to Rebuild - Revised Edition by George Reid
ISBN: 9781613252284
Publication Date: 2016
Advanced Race Car Chassis Technology by Bob Bolles
ISBN: 9781557885623
Publication Date: 2010
Automated Driving and Driver Assistance Systems by Tom Denton
ISBN: 0367265591
Publication Date: 2020
Automated vehicles are set to transform the world. Automated driving vehicles are here already and undergoing serious testing in several countries around the world. This book explains the technologies in language that is easy to understand and accessible to all readers. It covers the subject from several angles but in particular shows the links to existing ADAS technologies already in use in all modern vehicles. There is a lot of hype in the media at the moment about autonomous or driverless cars, and while some manufacturers expect to have vehicles available from 2020, they will not soon take over and it will be some time before they are commonplace.
Automobile Electrical and Electronic Systems by Tom Denton
ISBN: 9780080969428
Publication Date: 2012
Automotive Handbook by Robert Bosch GmbH
ISBN: 9781119911906
Publication Date: 2023
Automotive mechanics by Ed May
ISBN: 9781760427122
Publication Date: 2021
This revised edition now addresses the needs of students studying the qualifications AUR20520 Cert II in Automotive Servicing Technology and AUR30620 Certificate III in Light Vehicle Mechanical Technology. Updated content includes extended coverage on electrical and hybrid vehicles. The resource also now includes the chapter 'The environment and the automotive service industry' within the text (previously found online only). The revised edition also includes QR codes at key sections that take students directly to instructional videos. Video topics include dismantling an oil pump, checking bearing oil clearance and checking engine valves, amongst others.

The content ensures full coverage of the latest vehicle computer systems and diagnostic techniques. The resource is available both in print and eBook versions and is complimented by a suite of online resources that provide students with practical tasks and quizzes to help them consolidate their learning.
Automotive Steering, Suspension, and Alignment by James D. Halderman
ISBN: 9780132747769
Publication Date: 2013
Build Your Own Electric Vehicle by Seth Leitman; Bob Brant
ISBN: 9780071770569
Publication Date: 2013
Diesel engines and fuel systems by Barry Wellington
ISBN: 9780648467410
Publication Date: 2020
Electric and Hybrid Vehicles by Tom Denton; Hayley Pells
ISBN: 9781032556796
Publication Date: 2024
Electric and Hybrid Vehicles by Iqbal Husain
ISBN: 9780367693930
Publication Date: 2022
Electric Powertrain by John G. Hayes; G. Abas Goodarzi
ISBN: 1119063647
Publication Date: 2019
The why, what and how of the electric vehicle powertrain Empowers engineering professionals and students with the knowledge and skills required to engineer electric vehicle powertrain architectures, energy storage systems, power electronics converters and electric drives.The modern electric powertrain is relatively new for the automotive industry, and engineers are challenged with designing affordable, efficient and high-performance electric powertrains as the industry undergoes a technological evolution. Co-authored by two electric vehicle (EV) engineers with decades of experience designing and putting into production all of the powertrain technologies presented, this book provides readers with the hands-on knowledge, skills and expertise they need to rise to that challenge. This four-part practical guide provides a comprehensive review of battery, hybrid and fuel cell EV systems and the associated energy sources, power electronics, machines, and drives. The first part of the book begins with a historical overview of electromobility and the related environmental impacts motivating the development of the electric powertrain.
The Essential Guide to Motorcycle Maintenance by Mark Zimmerman
ISBN: 9781884313417
Publication Date: 2004
Fundamentals of Automotive and Engine Technology by Konrad Reif (Editor)
ISBN: 365803971X
Publication Date: 2014
Heavy Duty Truck Systems by Sean Bennett
ISBN: 9781337787109
Publication Date: 2020
You'll build a strong foundation in electricity and electronics, powertrain, steering and suspension, brakes, and accessories systems, as well as mastering practical topics like servicing, safety, tools, and preventive maintenance. You'll also benefit from full coverage of the latest ASE Education Foundation IMMR/TST/MST competencies and the latest truck technology, including J1939 updates and access tools, lock-out tag-out compliance, expanded PicoScope coverage, DIN wiring schematic navigation, and the five levels of semi- and fully autonomous trucks. With extensive review questions, over 1800 full-color photos and illustrations, and a standalone workbook with ASE Education Foundation task-oriented job sheets, this proven text is the perfect choice to prepare you for professional success.
Modern Diesel Technology by Robert Huzij; Angelo Spano; Sean Bennett
ISBN: 9781337567589
Publication Date: 2019
The Motor Car by Giancarlo Genta; Lorenzo Morello; Francesco Cavallino; Luigi Filtri
ISBN: 9400785518
Publication Date: 2014
Outboard Engines by Edwin R. Sherman
ISBN: 0071544623
Publication Date: 2008
Rebuilding the Small-Block Chevy by Larry Atherton; Larry Schreib
ISBN: 1932494219
Publication Date: 2005
Recreational Power Guide : Batteries by Jason Marshall
ISBN: 9780987504920
Publication Date: 2019
Two-Stroke Motorcycle Engine Maintenance and Repair by Dave Boothroyd
ISBN: 9781785001208
Publication Date: 2016
Understanding Automotive Electronics by William Ribbens
ISBN: 9780128104347
Publication Date: 2018
The V12 Engine by Karl E. Ludvigsen
ISBN: 9780837617336
Publication Date: 2016

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Australian Motorcycle News
Street Machine Street Machine is the bible of Australian V8 culture and the top-selling car mag in Oz.
Wheels Wheels is an Australian automotive magazine published monthly by Bauer Media Group. The publication is well-renowned by Australian car enthusiasts.

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Body Electrical
Diesel engines Vol 1 Through live action and animations learn how to operate, disassemble, service, reassemble and handle diesel engines. Also learn about basic testing procedures, part replacement and common methods on how to determine the difference between the two and four stroke engines. Vol 2 also available.
Mechanika Part 1: examines the operating principles of four stroke and two stroke engines, their basic engine components and valve timing. Parts 2 and 3 also available.
Top Gear ( TV Series) Season 20 The 20th series of the world's most popular car show sees Jeremy Clarkson, Richard Hammond, and James May in typically explosive form. In the course of six packed-programs, they set out to race a car against an America's Cup yacht up the coast of New Zealand, launch a highly scientific process to find the world's fastest taxi, and do their bit for European economic turmoil by blasting across Spain in three "affordable" supercars. Library has seasons 10-20.

Online resources

Click on any title to access the e-book.
See our e-books guide for further help.

Automobile Mechanical and Electrical Systems by Tom Denton; Hayley Pells
ISBN: 9781000779264
Publication Date: 2023
Heavily illustrated in full colour, this outlines new vehicle systems, from the engine through to the chassis and electronics. It now gives fresh coverage of HVAC, water pumps, thermal management, EV/HV awareness, safety management and hygiene, occupant restraints, and lighting systems.
Automotive mechanics by Ed May, Les Simpson
ISBN: 9781760421502
Publication Date: 2019
Automotive Wiring and Electrical Systems by Tony Candela
ISBN: 9781613250198
Publication Date: 2009
Learn to modify muscle car electrical circuits or install modern conveniences on performance cars confidently and quickly
Hydrogen Electrical Vehicles by Mehmet Sankir (Editor); Nurdan Demirci Sankir (Editor)
ISBN: 9781394166381
Publication Date: 2023
Hydrogen Technologies by Reimund Neugebauer (Editor)
ISBN: 9783031162961
Publication Date: 2024
In this book, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft presents the knowledge and experience it has acquired along the entire value chain of the hydrogen economy. This encompasses materials and system development, production, system upscaling, energy sector applications, emission-intensive industry processes and mobility, as well as the practical, overarching issues of safety, standardization and service life.
Modern Diesel Technology Heavy Equipment Systems by Robert Huzij; Angelo Spano; Sean Bennett
ISBN: 9781133693369
Publication Date: 2020
Written by experienced technicians, MODERN DIESEL TECHNOLOGY: HEAVY EQUIPMENT SYSTEMS, 3rd Edition combines manufacturer-based and universal information into a single, reliable resource. The book's unique focus on off-highway mobile equipment systems delivers service and repair essentials for heavy equipment, agricultural equipment, and powered lift truck technology. Detailing everything from safety to best practices, chapter coverage addresses four key areas: hydraulics, heavy duty brakes, and drivetrains, as well as steering, suspension, and track systems.
The Motor Car by Giancarlo Genta; Lorenzo Morello; Francesco Cavallino; Luigi Filtri
ISBN: 9400785518
Publication Date: 2014
A Solar Car Primer by Eric Forsta Thacher
ISBN: 9783319174945
Publication Date: 2015
Technical Math for Dummies by Barry Schoenborn; Bradley Simkins
ISBN: 0470598743
Publication Date: 2010

Hover over "information" icon ( Information icon ) next to each item to see a description.

Australian Design Rules - Third Edition Motor Vehicles The Third Edition Australian Design Rules (ADRs) are national standards for vehicle safety, anti-theft and emissions. The standards apply to vehicles newly manufactured in Australia or imported as new or second hand vehicles, and supplied to the Australian market. For vehicles manufactured up until July 1989, the application of the ADRs is the responsibility of the state and territory governments. Vehicle users should consult with their state or territory transport authority for the Second and Third Edition ADRs that apply to these vehicles. For vehicles manufactured after July 1989, the application of the ADRs is the responsibility of the Australian Government under the Motor Vehicle Standards Act 1989. Vehicle users should consult with this department for the Second and Third Edition ADRs that apply to these vehicles.
Auto Electrical Testing Many problems with modern vehicles involve checking electrical circuits. Basic testing is easy but a good deal of damage can be done by careless methods. These tips should make the process much easier.
Auto Service Technology Career Guide Comprehensive links to Automotive Career Job Descriptions, Auto Learning Online, History of the Automobile, Environmental issues, New Technology, Safety, Manufacturers, News and Magazines
CarleySoftware Library of Automotive Repair Articles Technical articles on a range of topics including a Glossary, Air Conditioning, Alignment, Brakes, Cooling System, Drivability, Diagnostics & Emissions, Electrical, Battery, Starting & Charging System, Engine Mechanical, Exhaust, Front-Wheel Drive, Fuel, Ignition & Spark plugs, Lubrication & Maintenance, New Vehicles & Technology, Safety, Steering, Suspension & Tire, Transmission, Clutch and Driveline
Construction Equipment Includes product information from a range of suppliers, with field tests, new products and top 100 products lists
Holley Super Sniper EFI Makes Up To 1,250 HP For Just $1,500 “Holley’s Sniper EFI line of throttle body electronic fuel injection systems are designed to be budget-minded carburetor replacement solutions. Now, Holley has extended the Sniper EFI lineup to include the Super Sniper 650 and Super Sniper 1250.”
Kevin Sullivan’s Autoshop: Automotive Training and Resource Site for Automotive Electronics Free Online Tutorials and Technical Articles
Motor Features Australian and International car news, reviews and videos
A Short Course on Ignition Systems
Your Car Explained “Your Car Explained” is an interactive 3D tool, designed with engineers to educate students on various engine parts and car components. Includes functions , servicing and symptoms when things go wrong.

The library subscribes to various databases which contain articles on the automotive industry. You can access all of them via our Online Databases page.

To view, you'll be asked for a login - login with your TAFE SA Network account

Australia's National WHS Legislation
New Work Health and Safety legislation came into effect in some Australian states and territories on 1st January 2012. It was developed to harmonise the laws affecting workplace safety in Australia by replacing existing state based OH&S legislation. This interview led programme gives a brief history of the development of workplace safety in Australia, the development and need for the new WHS laws, defines key terms in the system, and explains changes to incident notification and offence categories. Craig Salter, from Action OHS consulting, provides clear, detailed explanations of the WHS legislation. A production for the TAFE market and employment sectors, it provides an understanding of the new WHS legislation as well as showing that Workplace safety is a system of change.
Inside the Automotive Technician's Toolbox
After an introduction to the power train and the fuel, electrical, cooling, exhaust, steering, suspension, and brake systems, the programme moves on to the auto tech’s personal hand tools and shared shop tools
Automotive Design CAD/CAM Case-studies
This programme looks at two examples of innovative automotive design and features the use of CAD and CAM.
A Super Car
McLaren is known the world over for its high performance Formula One racing cars. Now McLaren is joining the market of building high performance sports cars for the luxury car market

To search for Australian Standards:

Go to our Online Databases page

Using your current TAFE SA email , sign-up for an individual Techstreet account
Once you receive the Welcome email from Enterprise@Techstreet - set your personal password and download FileOpen and Adobe Acrobat. Details will be in that email.
You then search direct via https://subscriptions.techstreet.com/ Search by Australian Standard Number, Keyword or Subject

See our Australian Standards Database Guide for further help, or contact your library.

See our Australian Standards Database Guide for further help.

See instructional video below for accessing Australian Standards via Techstreet - viewers need to login with TAFE SA network account to view this 2 minute training video.