LibGuides: Allied Health Subject Guide: Resources

Welcome

Welcome to the Resources Guide for Allied Health students! If you are studying at Adelaide Campus, expand the video above for a virtual tour of the library.

Resources in the library

Books
DVDs

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Communicating as Professionals by Archee, Raymond & Gurney, Myra
ISBN: 9780170465632

Publication Date: 2024
Communication : core interpersonal skills for healthcare professionals by Gjyn O'Toole
ISBN: 9780729544696

Publication Date: 2024
Community Health and Wellness: Principles of Primary Health Care 7E by Jill Clendon; Ailsa Munns
ISBN: 9780729544726

Publication Date: 2023
Law and Ethics for Health Practitioners by Sonia Allan
ISBN: 9780729544252

Publication Date: 2024
Living with Chronic Illness and Disability, 4e by Esther Chang; Amanda Johnson
ISBN: 9780729543583

Publication Date: 2021
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions by Mosby
ISBN: 9780729544597

Publication Date: 2025
Promoting Health by Jane Taylor; Lily O'Hara
ISBN: 9780729544719

Publication Date: 2025
Stories in Health Communication by Gjyn O'Toole
ISBN: 9780729544566

Publication Date: 2024
Therapeutic Communication for Health Care Professionals by Carol D. Tamparo; Wilburta Q. Lindh; Michelle Blesi
ISBN: 9780357619018

Publication Date: 2023
An Introduction to Community and Primary Health Care by Diana Guzys (Editor); Rhonda Brown (Editor); Elizabeth Halcomb (Editor); Dean Whitehead (Editor)
ISBN: 9781108797832

Publication Date: 2021

Case management in health care
Publication Date: 2012

For some people, managing their health involves complex care plans and access to a variety of resources. Individuals with disabilities, the elderly, or mentally impaired people are just some examples of people for whom achieving optimal outcomes is difficult. Achieving effective care may involve a number of health service providers and other resources. Appointing a case manager to negotiate this complex set of circumstances is one way in which health, well-being and personal goals can be achieved. Featuring expert interviews and real-world examples, this is a high-quality resource exploring the key skills of good case management and the importance of collaboration
Working safely in community services
Publication Date: 2009

The Working safely in community services DVD has been specifically designed for learners with English language and literacy needs. It provides important information for workers in aged care and home and community care workplace settings. The Working safely in community services DVD gives clear directions on: manual handling, such as lifting objects and transferring clients; standard hygiene practices, such as handwashing, infection control and barrier protection; client admission and care planning processes, such as collecting and recording information; safety in the home care environment, such as wearing identification, parking in a safe location, keeping in contact with your employer, recognizing potentially dangerous situations and knowing when to leave

Online resources

To view, you'll be asked for a login - login with your TAFE SA Network account

If you need to find out how to view them, go to the Study Guides and click on Streaming Videos on the library catalogue.

2 minutes to success: overcome anxiety
Publication Date: 2023

Summary: Overcome Anxiety will help people feel normal, given 1 in 4 people now experience anxiety more frequently. In this video, learners will discover that anxiety includes symptoms like a racing heart, a desire to withdraw socially, excessive worrying, even panic attacks. Overcome Anxiety is a timely video for the increasing number of people experiencing and complaining of anxiety, providing proven ways to overcome the problem. Psychology expert Peter Quarry suggests slow breathing, mindfulness and challenging your self-talk.
Emerging diseases: prions, viruses
Publication Date: 2008

Summary: An emerging disease is one that has appeared in a population for the first time, and a re-emerging disease is one that may have existed previously but is rapidly increasing in incidence or geographic range. The diseases discussed include SARS, Avian flu, Rift Valley Fever and Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease. This programme looks at the transmission, clinical features, diagnosis, treatment, vectors, prevention and control of these diseases
The Fourth Industrial Revolution : Health
Publication Date: 2018

This video explores what medical advances we could make by the year 2030 with guest speaker Professor Richard Kennedy providing insight.
General Social Care Raising Concerns and Whistleblowing
Publication Date: 2019

As a social care worker or volunteer, your first responsibility is to promote the safety and well-being of the individuals you support, protecting them from danger, harm and abuse at all times. In part this is achieved when you come across a situation that causes you concern and you report this to an appropriate person Designed to give you the confidence that sharing a concern is the right thing to do, this video will help you answer such questions as: Why do I have to raise my concern? How do I raise a concern? Who should I tell? What should I do if my concern is not dealt with appropriately? It starts by exploring how we often raise concerns naturally and informally as part of our day-to-day routine and that this is a positive thing to do.
Home Care : Health and Safety
Publication Date: 2019

This title is designed exclusively for those providing care within the Home Care setting. In considering the home carer's duty of care to the person they're supporting and themselves, it aims to improve awareness of common hazards about the home whilst considering the importance of referring to risk assessments and care plans. It discusses the need for improved awareness of the importance of good housekeeping when storing or disposing of chemicals, dangerous substances or sharp objects and develops an awareness of the need for safe practice in moving & assisting, food safety, infection control and fire safety. The video goes on to briefly introduce the need to consider personal safety when visiting the homes of people you support and the importance of raising issues of concern with management and reporting injury and ill health.
Meeting Individual Needs
Publication Date: 2012

Providing health and care services to recipients has changed significantly in recent decades. Not only have technology and medical science progressed considerably, but approaches to service provision have also shifted. Today, the service user is the focus of coordinated and managed care plans. It is critical that their needs, wants and aspirations are the focus of service delivery. This film explores how individual needs are met with health care and other service provision. It features the University of Kent's Professor Julia Twigg and The Fremantle Trust's Sue Green, who provide expert comments relating to care plans and the management of individuals' needs. It is an engaging and informative resource for those studying courses relating to health care and allied service provision, as well as serving as a useful professional development tool for those already working in those sectors.
Negotiating workplace agreements
Publication Date: 2006

In the context of the new Industrial Relations legislation, it is essential that people take some control over their workplace contracts and try and ensure they achieve fair and reasonable conditions of work that are mutually acceptable to the employer and employee." The aim of this program is to explore the key features of a workplace contract, and the steps that can be taken to achieve one. It deals with the new Industrial Relations landscape, and particularly the new WorkChoices legislation introduced in 2006

Cognitive Behavioural Therapy for Dummies by Rhena Branch; Rob Willson
ISBN: 9780470972540

Publication Date: 2010
Living with chronic illness and disability : principles for nursing practice by Esther Chang
ISBN: 9780729586238

Publication Date: 2018
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by Mosby
ISBN: 9780323414197

Publication Date: 2016
Project management in health and community services by Judith Dwyer
ISBN: 9781741152968

Publication Date: 2004
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by Immy Holloway; Stephanie Wheeler
ISBN: 9781444315363

Publication Date: 2013

Aged Care Quality Standards
Allied Health Professions
Find out more about the work of individual allied health professions.
Australian Service Excellence Standards
The Australian Service Excellence Standards (ASES) program is your community organisation’s road map to excellence.
Closing the gap
Working together to make a better future for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
Hand Hygiene Moments
This series of short videos highlights the important role medical practitioners have in modelling good hand hygiene practice.
Learn about the fundamentals of hand hygiene practice from Dr Phoebe Holdenson Kimura, a Medical Advisor for the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC) and GP.
National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (2nd ed)
The primary aims of the NSQHS Standards are:
1.To protect the public from harm
2. To improve the quality of health service provision.
They provide a quality assurance mechanism that tests whether relevant systems are in place to ensure that expected standards of safety and quality are met.
NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission
SA Community - Connecting Up Australia
Database of South Australian community services

These databases contain articles that may be relevant to your subject. You can access all of them via our Databases page.

Australian and New Zealand Reference Centre
- contains Australasian and international magazines, newspapers, reference books, biographies, company information and an image collection.
CINAHL
- an essential tool for nursing research, provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Literature covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Gale General OneFile
- provides access to an unprecedented number of general reference magazines and key serials in a single resource. This database is useful to users conducting general reference queries, business searches, and current event research. The addition of a browse-by-subject feature allows users to easily view content of interest on the most popular and most-searched topics within several distinct categories, including news, current events, health, and computers and technology.
Gale Health and Wellness
- offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
Gale in Context: College
Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the ideal resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
- includes full-text titles to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum.
Science Direct
- this information service for the interdisciplinary research needs of academic, corporate and educational institutions, provides comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science. It offers full-text articles (over 1.2 million articles) as well as abstract and indexing databases (providing coverage of over 30 million records).

See our database guides for help using these

You can now read a whole range of Australian national, state and local newspapers online via our new database NEWSBANK. It provides the full text for over 600 publications.

Check out Newsbank via our Databases page (requires login).

Newspapers

Prejudice - Reflection of the world today!
11 Sep 2016
Asit Kaul

Four individuals from different walks of life, a Caucasian Corporate Executive, a Hijab wearing Persian Fashion Designer, a Chinese Dental Surgeon and an Indian Man with Body Art, share the Prejudices that they hold and that they face in a modern society.