LibGuides: Aged and Disability Services Subject Guide: Individual Support

Resources in the library

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Individual support in Australia : ageing, disability, home and community care by Gail Horwood (ed)
ISBN: 9781742365251
Publication Date: 2016
The individual support worker : Ageing, Disability, Home and Community by Geoff Arnott
ISBN: 9780170385367
Publication Date: 2017
The experienced carer: frontline leaders in Australia's aged care workplace 2nd ed. by Helen Croft
ISBN: 9780170355445
Publication Date: 2016
Clinical dosage calculator for Australia & New Zealand by Vanessa Brotto
ISBN: 9780170352659
Publication Date: 2015
Becoming a helper by Marianne Schnieder
ISBN: 9781305401075
Publication Date: 2016
Communicating in the health sciences by Joy Higgs
ISBN: 9780195551402
Publication Date: 2008
Communicating quality and safety in health care by Rick Iedema, Donella Piper, Marie Manidis (eds.)
ISBN: 9781107699328
Publication Date: 2015
Community Services intervention : an introduction to direct practice by Vera Lloyd
ISBN: 9781743315231
Publication Date: 2014
Complementary therapies for older people in care by Sharon Tay
ISBN: 9781848191785
Publication Date: 2013
Long-term caring : residential, home and community aged care 3rd ed. by Karen Scott
ISBN: 9780729541916
Publication Date: 2015
The Australian Health Care System by Stephen Duckett, Sharon Willcox
ISBN: 9780195596403
Publication Date: 2015
Mastering Medical Terminology by Sue Walker; Maryann Wood; Jenny Nicol
ISBN: 9780729542401
Publication Date: 2017

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Communicate and work in health and community services (streamlined) : CHCCOM005 by ASPIRE
ISBN: 9781760314774
Publication Date: 2015
Follow safe work practices for direct client care (streamlined) : HLTWHS002 by ASPIRE
ISBN: 9781760316877
Publication Date: 2015
Provide individualised support (streamlined) : CHCCCS015 by ASPIRE
ISBN: 9781760314224
Publication Date: 2015
Recognise healthy body systems (streamlined) : HLTAAP001 by ASPIRE
ISBN: 9781760316570
Publication Date: 2015
Support independence and wellbeing (streamlined) : CHCCCS023 by ASPIRE
ISBN: 9781760314477
Publication Date: 2015
Work legally and ethically (streamlined) : CHCLEG001 by ASPIRE
ISBN: 9781760315825
Publication Date: 2015
Work with diverse people (Streamlined) : CHCDIV001 by ASPIRE
ISBN: 9781760315375
Publication Date: 2015

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

New Community Quarterly
ISBN: 1448-0336

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Assisting with personal hygiene and grooming by ASPIRE
Publication Date: 2012
Health and safety essentials for Aged care facilities in Australia by Working Pictures
Publication Date: 2011
Healthy bodies : an introduction to human body systems by ideas that Work
Publication Date: 2010
Infection control practice and procedures : for Australian aged care facilities by Working Pictures
Publication Date: 2011
Manual handling for support workers in home care
Publication Date: 2011
Moving and handling essential principles : for Australian aged care facilities by Working Pictures
Publication Date: 2010
Skin care and skin integrity : for Australian aged care facilities by Working Pictures
Publication Date: 2010

Online resources

Advanced care planning in aged care A guide to support implementation in community and residential settings
Advanced Care Planning Australia
Advocacy Service for Older People Older Persons Advocacy Network organisations support consumers and their families and representatives to effectively access and interact with Commonwealth funded aged care services and have their rights protected.
Aged Care - Australian Government Department of Health Aged care provides support to older people to help them with everyday living and other needs. Find out about what services we fund, how older Australians can access them, and what service providers need to do to deliver our aged care programs.
Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission The Commission’s principal role is to protect and enhance the safety, health, well-being and quality of life of people receiving aged care funded by the Australian Government.
more...less...
Committed to promoting the provision of high quality care and services for these individuals. Also the single point of contact for complaints, quality and regulation in aged care which will strengthen the focus on consumers, streamline regulation, support better engagement with and between consumers and providers, and promote transparency.
Aged Care Quality Standards The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission (Commission) expects organisations providing aged care services in Australia to comply with the Quality Standards.
Aust Government : Department of Health - Ageing and Aged Care - Information for Health Professionals This page provides hospitals, GPs and other community-based health professionals with information on My Aged Care and the process for referring older patients (aged 65 years and over and 50 years and over for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people) to aged care services.
Australasian Legal Information Institute For acts & regulations in all states and the Commonwealth, including Local Government Act, Real Property Act.
Australian Ageing Agenda "Complementing the magazine is our website: www.australianageingagenda.com.au (the library subscribes to the magazine) Updated daily, the website is an interactive information hub for the sector, giving users access to breaking news, conference information, activities and events, and useful links. An e-newsletter is sent to subscribers twice a week on Wednesday and Friday mornings."
Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care The Commission leads and coordinates key improvements in safety and quality in health care across Australia.
Australian Government : Department of Health Website of the Department of Health, covering topics like ageing, nutrition and health, home care, etc.
Australian Government Department of Health - Aged Care Aged care provides support to older people to help them with everyday living and other needs. Find out about what services we fund, how older Australians can access them, and what service providers need to do to deliver our aged care programs.
Body Maps "The human body is quite a wonder, and anyone with an interest in human anatomy and related topics will find this site quite useful. Visitors can get started by scrolling over a male or female body to learn more about the various body systems. There's a body keyword search engine here that is most useful. On the left-hand side of the page, visitors can use the demonstration section to rotate the bodies around and also look into different layers of the models provided here. The site also features embedded links to other resources that complement the interactive models. Visitors shouldn't miss the Video Tour area, which provides a great way to learn about all of the features here."
Carers Australia Improves the lives of carers by the provision of counselling, advice, advocacy, education and training, and promotes the recognition of carers to governments, businesses and the public.
COTA COTA is an Australian seniors' organisation, with individual members and seniors organisation members in all States and Territories.COTA protects and promotes the well-being of all seniors.COTA is an independent consumer organisation run by and for senior Australians.
COTA South Australia COTA SA is the peak body for 633,000 older people in South Australia. We provide a platform to ensure that older South Australians are part of decision-making by government and industry on everything from income and employment to housing and health.
Dementia Australia We advocate for the needs of people living with all types of dementia, and for their families and carers, and provide support services, education and information. Dementia Australia is a member of Alzheimer's Disease International, the umbrella organisation of Dementia and Alzheimer's Associations around the world.
Dementia Care International - Spark of Life "Changing the way the world sees Dementia Care -Spark of Life is a pioneering, social approach that is changing the nature of how aged care organisations care for those who live with dementia."
Directory of Community Services SA SAcommunity is a directory of South Australian community services. It includes information about government, non-government, community based and some private sector organisations that provide services for the South Australian community in the areas of health, welfare, housing, education, community participation, information, legal services, arts and recreation.
Falls Prevention : Australian & New Zealand Falls Prevention Society Australian and New Zealand Falls Prevention Society (ANZFPS). The ANZFPS was formed in 2006 to promote the multidisciplinary study and implementation of falls prevention in older people.
Food Safety SA Health Most cases of food borne illness are preventable through good hygiene and safe food handling practices. Food safety is a shared responsibility and we all have a role to play:
Keeping your workplace safe - Job Safe SA The aged care industry is an industry on the verge of a great increase in the demands associated with the provision of health and disability services, and family and community care. With more Australians needing the facilities that aged care workers provide, there will be a greater strain on these provisions. These strains can expose aged care workers to an increase in the risks associated with their occupation.
My Aged Care "The My Aged Care website has been established by the Australian Government to help you navigate the aged care system. My Aged Care is part of the Australian Government’s changes to the aged care system which have been designed to give people more choice, more control and easier access to a full range of aged care services."
Seniors Health Issues SA governmant site with links to health issues facing the aged. Follow links to further information
Work with diverse people : Queensland Council of Community Services

Anxiety and depression in older people "While anxiety and depression are different conditions, it is not uncommon for them to occur at the same time. Over half of those who experience depression also experience symptoms of anxiety. In some cases, one can lead to the onset of the other. Older people are at greater risk of developing mental health conditions because of the cumulative effect of numerous risk factors"
Connections matter : helping older people stay socially active "Connections matter. Strong ties with family, friends and the community provide people with happiness, security, support and a sense of purpose. Research shows that being connected to others is important for mental wellbeing and can be a protective factor against anxiety and depression."
Dementia anxiety and depression "Dementia and depression can occur separately or together. Sometimes it may be difficult to distinguish between them because the signs and symptoms are similar. However, dementia and depression are different conditions, requiring different responses and treatment."
What works to promote emotional wellbeing in older people "This booklet has been designed for staff working in community or residential aged care services. It covers a range of interventions that can be used to promote emotional wellbeing or to help people with anxiety or depression. These interventions are grouped by type, for example, physical activity interventions, and interventions to do with music and the arts."

Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety
ELDAC - End of Life Directions for Aged Care ELDAC provides information, guidance, and resources to health professionals and aged care workers to support palliative care and advance care planning to improve the care of older Australians.

Click on any title to access the e-book.
See our e-books guide for further help.

Aged care nursing by Susan Carmody, Sue Forster
ISBN: 9781597340007
Publication Date: 2004
Anatomy and Physiology
ISBN: 9781605472331
Publication Date: 2009
The Care of the Older Person by Ronald Caplan
ISBN: 9781000815023
Publication Date: 5th edn., 2023
Communication for nurses : how to prevent harmful events and promote patient safety by Schuster, C.R.
ISBN: 0803620802
Publication Date: 2010
Developing Excellent Care for People Living with Dementia in Care Homes [e-book] by Caroline Baker, Pete Calveley, Jason Corrigan, Sue Goldsmith
ISBN: 9781784500535
Publication Date: 2014
The Heart of Care by Amanda Waring
ISBN: 9780285641051
Publication Date: 2012
Medical Terminology for Dummies by Beverley Henderson; Jennifer Lee Dorsey
ISBN: 9780470453308
Publication Date: 2009
Medical Terminology Simplified : A Programmed Learning Approach by Body System by Gylys, Barbara A.;Masters, Regina M.
ISBN: 9780803624870
Publication Date: 2009
My Parents Are Ageing, What The Heck Do I Do? : Understanding Australia's aged care system to support older loved ones at home by Coral Wilkinson
ISBN: 9781922764270
Publication Date: 1st edn., 2022
Nutrition and Fitness by Cavendish
ISBN: 9780761499596
Publication Date: 2010
Personal Hygiene Care by Linsay Dingwall
ISBN: 9781444318715
Publication Date: 2010
Practical approaches to infection control in residential aged care by Kevin Kendall
ISBN: 9781597340090
Publication Date: 2004
Still Caring : Supporting Older People in Residential Aged Care by Lyndis Flynn
ISBN: 9781920785062
Publication Date: 2023

Aged Care: Communicating with Family and Carers Australia is experiencing 'population ageing'. Many older Australians are dependent on the care and support of informal care arrangements provided by the family and formal aged care services delivered in the community or in residential aged care homes. Developing and maintaining respectful interpersonal relationships with the client/resident and family through the use of effective and specialist communication skills can achieve successful outcomes of care that promote quality of life in accordance with legislation, regulatory requirements, professional standards and guidelines. This programme discusses various methods and approaches carers can utilise when communicating, ensuring a successful care arrangement for everyone involved.
Aged Care: Communication with Colleagues Integral to the operations of any workplace is effective communication between all staff. It is particularly important in any area of health service delivery and care, including an aged care environment. Communication in the workplace takes on a variety of forms, and this programme looks at the areas particularly relevant to aged care, including verbal and non-verbal communication, formal and in-formal communication, conflict resolution, negotiation, communication between staff, and communication between management and staff. This programme will serve as a valuable training and professional development resource for all workers in an aged care environment.
Aged Care : Hygiene: Handwashing Keeping hands clean through improved hand hygiene is one of the most important steps we can take to avoid cross infection, spreading germs to others and getting sick ourselves. Washing hands with soap and water is the best way to reduce the number of germs on them. This snippet demonstrates the best method for washing hands for good hand hygiene.
Aged Care and Cultural Diversity Our cultural backgrounds, experiences and beliefs can influence our day-to-day behaviour without us even realising it. Within aged care, culture has a major impact on how we work and how we communicate with patients and residents. Often a cultural adjustment needs to take place so that an appropriate and culturally sensitive level of care can be delivered to the aged care client. In this programme we investigate what culture is and how we can make our communication relevant in the face of cultural barriers. We also look at different cultural groups and personal cultural history, while also considering individual religious practices and traditions.
Alzheimer's Disease and Related Disorders, Part 1 Alzheimer's disease is a progressive, degenerative disorder that attacks the brain's nerve cells resulting in loss of memory, thinking and language skills and behavioural changes.
Alzheimer's Disease and Related Disorders : Part 2 Alzheimer's disease is a devastating progressive, degenerative disorder that attacks the brain's nerve cells resulting in loss of memory, thinking and language skills, and changes in physical ability. As a result, it presents some unique challenges to healthcare professionals. In this wide-ranging and compassionate second programme, we examine the physical symptoms of Alzheimer's disease and the simple, effective strategies to deal with physical instability, wandering, following and verbal and physical aggression, amongst other symptoms. Concluding with effective strategies for dealing with end-of-life issues for Alzheimer's disease patients, this is a richly rewarding educational programme for both caregivers and health professionals.
Anatomy: Functional Body Systems Beneath our skin, numerous systems are enacting complex processes, each as important as the other. Through detailed diagrams and animations, discover the hidden wonders of the skeletal, muscular, cardiovascular, repertory and nervous system. We explain how these essential system work in conjunction with each other to create these amazing machines we call the human body. Throughout this program we examine each of these systems, their parts, their functions and how they work. We also explore the contribution and interaction of these vital systems when we exercise and while we rest.
Australia's National WHS Legislation New Work Health and Safety legislation came into effect in some Australian states and territories on 1st January 2012. It was developed to harmonise the laws affecting workplace safety in Australia by replacing existing state based OH&S legislation. This interview led programme gives a brief history of the development of workplace safety in Australia, the development and need for the new WHS laws, defines key terms in the system, and explains changes to incident notification and offence categories. Craig Salter, from Action OHS consulting, provides clear, detailed explanations of the WHS legislation. A production for the TAFE market and employment sectors, it provides an understanding of the new WHS legislation as well as showing that Workplace safety is a system of change.
Basic Care Procedures: Showering and Bed-Bathing Maintaining personal hygiene plays an important role in preventing disease, especially infection; as well as contributing to the patient's general well-being, preserving comfort and positive body image. This programme demonstrates how to carry out basic care procedures of showering and bed bathing in a professional and caring manner. The general care principles of safety, privacy and comfort are highlighted throughout the programme.
Care Home : Death, Dying and Bereavement This programme helps to prepare care workers for dealing with the emotional and practical issues surrounding death, dying and bereavement. There are many important issues to consider when dealing with death in social care, the emotional aspects of coping with terminal illness and the death of service users.
Care Home : Role of the Care Worker This resource presents the role of the care worker in a professional and appealing way. Using demonstrations of good and bad practice in realistic scenarios, this title makes the learning points easy to apply after completing the training. Care workers are introduced to the concepts of access and application of policies and procedures, the organisation's aims & values and working in partnership with other workers and the people receiving support. This video will help them answer such questions as: What standard of conduct is expected of me? What tasks and activities will I be expected to carry out? Where do I go for advice, information and support? Why should I support the involvement of carers and family? This title, along with The Principles of Person Centred Care contribute to improving understanding of the various interrelating issues that combine to ensure the role of the care worker is central to promoting good principles of care that meet the individual needs of people receiving support.
Delirium, Dementia and Depression Delirium and dementia are two of the most common mental disorders elderly people face. Depression is also common in elderly people and often presents with symptoms similar to dementia or delirium. The differentiation between these three conditions can be difficult because many symptoms overlap. As the cause of so much suffering and discomfort, it is important these conditions are effectively addressed by medical staff. This programme defines these conditions by detailing symptoms and speaking to medical experts. Potential risk factors, causes of delirium and assessment criteria for all three conditions are outlined along with a brief summary of management strategies.
End of Life Care Death is inevitable and a natural part of life, but for the patient this important time can be difficult for the dying person and also their family and close friends. Therefore a health professional's role is to support the patient with maintaining their quality of life in this last stage of life. In this programme we provide an introduction to the important aspects of good end of life care, looking closely at the key aims of end of life care, outlining the importance of advanced care planning; examine the use of medication and nutrition; and types of support offered for grieving families and friends. This programme also features a number of health professionals who provide their expertise for this difficult topic.
Home Care : Principles of Person Centred Care This title is designed exclusively for those providing care within the Home Care setting, and introduces carers to the values that underpin person centred care. It assists them to develop their understanding of how principles of care should be reflected in their day-to-day practices by exploring the values of individuality, rights, choice, privacy, independence, dignity, respect and partnership.
Infection Control in Health Care Infection control in a health care setting is a fundamental responsibility shared by all staff. This video resource will ensure that infection control is front of mind for every worker. It starts by outlining the four principles of infection control, followed by a detailed examination of standard precautions that must be undertaken at all times, including a step-by-step demonstration of correct hand washing technique. Transmission-based precautions are explained, grouped into three broad groups: contact, droplet, and airborne. Finally, organisational support is described, including the importance of the infection control committee and regular health screenings for all staff.
Infection Control in the Long Term Care Facility Infection control has become more important than ever due, in part, to some bacteria being resistant to antibiotics, and the increasing survival rates of the chronically ill and the elderly. This programme covers the chain of infection and the role standard precautions play in breaking this chain, the role of OH&S in your infection control programme and major signs and symptoms of infection.
Nutrition for the Older Adult It is important that older adults maintain a good diet in order to assist in remaining in good health, but dietary requirements change through age. This excellent program explains the change in diet that older persons need and the reasons behind it. We explore the need for higher levels of nutrients, vitamins and minerals from less calories, why whole grain fibres become more important and how to balance calorie intake against a reduction in exercise and calorie output. This program is an excellent resource for all aged care workers involved in the selection or advice of food and nutrition.
Pain Management in the Elderly Pain is something we all experience and is something that many people fear, especially as they grow older. Long term experiences of pain may well become increasingly common as we head towards an ageing society beset with multiple chronic diseases. It is therefore imperative that medical professionals understand the implications of pain and incorporate appropriate actions to assess and deal with pain into their patient care. This programme considers all of these issues and looks broadly at pain management in the elderly. Three pain management experts share their insights with us, examining what pain is, assessment methods and common treatments available.
Professional Boundaries in Health Care Professional boundaries refer to the distinctions that a worker or professional or group of professionals make between acceptable and unacceptable behaviour. In the delivery of health care services, they are critical to maintain a proper, professional relationship between workers and clients. However, it is an area where there can be many 'shades of grey' and health care providers must use appropriate decision-making tools to guide their behaviour. This programme provides an introduction to the area of professional boundaries, and includes interviews with three experienced health professionals, including renowned consultant and trainer, Jenny Bray - along with some excellent dramatized scenarios aimed at provoking thought and discussion in this important area. It is an essential learning resource for students studying in a range of health care areas, and working health care professionals - be they in institutional care facilities or involved in community-based care.
Sensory Loss and Ageing The decline or total loss of any of the five senses has an enormous impact on an older person's independence and the quality of life they enjoy. This interview led programme outlines the difficulties and behaviours a carer may encounter as a result of a client's sensory impairment as well as providing practical strategies and management plans to assist carers in meeting the needs of clients with sensory impairment.
Understanding Aged Care As a result of the ageing population, the aged care sector is growing at a rapid rate. This has led to an increasingly diverse range of occupational opportunities in the provision of home, community and residential services. This interview led programme explores the aged care sector, high and low levels of care, changes associated with ageing, positive ageing, and the rights and interests of old people. We talk with residential managers, team leaders and lifestyle co-ordinators as well as researchers experienced in the industry. Ideal for community services related studies.