LibGuides: Arboriculture Subject Guide: Resources

Resources in the library

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Abiotic Disorders of Landscape Plants by Coello; Laurence Costello
ISBN: 9781879906587
Publication Date: 2014
Applied Tree Biology by Andrew Hirons; Peter A. Thomas
ISBN: 9781118296400
Publication Date: 2018
Arborists' Certification Study Guide, 3rd Edition by Sharon J. Lilly
ISBN: 9781881956693
Publication Date: 2010
Australian Forest Woods by Morris Lake
ISBN: 9781486307784
Publication Date: 2019
Australian Termites by Phillip Hadlington; Louise Beck; Ion Staunton
ISBN: 9780868408934
Publication Date: 2007
Australian Trees by Leonard Cronin
ISBN: 1741751098
Publication Date: 2007
The Body Language of Trees
ISBN: 9783923704897
Book of leaves : a leaf-by-leaf guide to six hundred of the world's great trees / Allen J. Coombes ; editor, Zsolt Debreczy. by Allen J. Coombes ; editor, Zsolt Debreczy.
ISBN: 9781782403302
Publication Date: 2016
Diagnosis of Ill-Health in Trees by R. G. Strouts; T. G. Winter
ISBN: 0117535451
Publication Date: 2000
Modern Arboriculture by Alex L. Shigo
ISBN: 0943563097
Publication Date: 1991
Native eucalypts of South Australia by Dean Nicolle
ISBN: 9780646904108
Publication Date: 2013
Pests of Landscape Trees and Shrubs by Steve H. Dreistadt; Jack Kelly Clark; Mary Louise Flint
ISBN: 1879906619
Publication Date: 2004
Protocol for vegetation management near powerlines 2016-2018 : a process for consultation between SA Power Networks and SA Councils, landholders and the community / amended by A. Lewis. by Lewis, A. SA Power Networks
Publication Date: 2016
Smaller eucalypts for planting in Australia : their selection, cultivation and management / Dean Nicolle. by Nicolle, Dean
ISBN: 9780646957906
Publication Date: 2016
Taller eucalypts for planting in Australia : their selection, cultivation and management / Dean Nicolle. by Nicolle, Dean
ISBN: 9780646957913
Publication Date: 2016
Tree Climbers' Guide, 3rd Edition by Sharon Lilly; Bryan Kotwica (Illustrator)
ISBN: 1881956482
Publication Date: 2005
Tree pests and Diseases : An Arborist's Field Guide by Watson; Guy
ISBN: 9780900978562
Publication Date: 2013
Valuing the Waite Arboretum by Jennifer A Gardner; Marianne McDuie; Erica Boyle
Publication Date: 2017

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Australian Arbor Age

Click on a title to see where that item is held.

You can reserve items held in any of our libraries and have them sent to the library of your choice - read here to find out how.

Online resources

Plant Life Balance HOW DOES YOUR SPACE RATE? Get the free app! Rate your space, then add plants from one of our seven professionally-styled looks to improve your score.
Tree-app Easy tree classification by leaves: classification by tree fruits, classification by winter marks, list of the commonest trees, extensive description of the trees, conifer simple determination, tree funghi. Each tree profile with up to 6 images, easy handling (table-view), two languages selectable (English and German), all images larger in landscape view. Size ca. 72 MB. IOS and Android; free
Waite Arboretum (Android version) Provides a great tool to explore the Waite Arboretum across the road from where some of you study at Urrbrae TAFE. Also produced by Marian McDuie (TAFE HPI) in GPS and mapping at Urrbrae TAFE
South Eastern Eucalypts of Australia A very handy online tool for identifying south-east Australian Eucalypts
Waite Arboretum (IOS version) Provides a great tool to explore the Waite Arboretum across the road from where some of you study at Urrbrae TAFE. Also produced by Marian McDuie (TAFE HPI) in GPS and mapping at Urrbrae TAFE

Click on any title to access the e-book.
See our e-books guide for further help.

Basic GIS Coordinates, Second Edition by Jan Van Sickle
ISBN: 9781420092325
Publication Date: 2010
Life in a Gall by Rosalind Blanche
ISBN: 9780643106437
Publication Date: 2012-08-31
Soils for Landscape Development by Elke Haege
ISBN: 9780643109650
Publication Date: 2014
Sun, Skin and Health by Terry Slevin
ISBN: 9781486301164
Publication Date: 2014

Arboriculture Australia We are the peak national organisation promoting and representing tree workers, arborists, professional tree management and urban forestry throughout Australia and the Asia Pacific region.
Bio Gro Knowledge Centre Cultivate your knowledge by viewing the articles, publications and tutorials written by our horticultural specialists. e.g. Kevin handreck
Climbing Arborist.com ClimbingArborist.com offers a free comprehensible video library of knot tying, tree climbing and rigging techniques (basic and advanced). For novice, advanced and all levels in-between use our site as a tool to resource, practice and master your Arborist skills.
Department of Environment The Department is responsible for implementing the Australian Government's policies to protect our environment and heritage, and to promote a sustainable way of life.
Enviro Data SA Welcome to Enviro Data SA, the gateway to data and information relating to the science and monitoring of South Australia’s environment and natural resources. Here you will find a range of information sources held or supported by the relevant agencies of the Government of South Australia. The site is a reference library that will continue to grow as more publications and data become available. Enviro Data SA is complementary to a suite of environment related websites of the Government of South Australia. It is a collaborative initiative between partner agencies and contributes to the objectives of the Government Open Data Initiative.
Environmental Online mapping site NatureMaps is the South Australian Department for Environment and Heritage's public web based (online) mapping site. The site has been designed to support the SA Govt's NatureLink initiative providing an easy to use inetractive mapping tool. NatureMaps improves environmental information access to people involved in Natural Resource management
Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act THis site provides information on all aspects of the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999. The Commonwealth legislation provides a national framework for environment protection and the conservation of Australia's biodiversity.
EUCLID Eucalypts of Australia An interactive key to the 917 Australian species and subspecies of eucalypts (Angophora, Corymbia and Eucalyptus), based on taxonomy up to December 2009.
Greening Australia Greening Australia is passionate about protecting and restoring the health, diversity and productivity of our unique Australian landscapes. Our vision A healthy, diverse and productive environment treasured by the whole community. Our mission To engage the community in vegetation management to protect and restore the health, diversity and productivity of our unique Australian landscapes.
Institute of Australian Consulting Arborists In 2003 IACA was formed as a national organisation by professional Consulting Arboriculturists. Membership comprising qualified practitioners concentrating on the provision of advice about trees to the public, all levels of government, anyone managing trees, and the building industry. It was founded to support and promote the professional interests and ongoing development of Consulting Arboriculturists in Australia and their specialised services providing objective and unbiased advice to the community for managing urban trees. The Institute’s primary aim is to foster practice and research in support of the Consulting Arboriculturist, through professional standards detailed in the IACA Code of Ethics which members agree to be bound by. As well as promoting the role of the Consulting Arborist, IACA’s mission is to maintain the highest standards of practice, promote uniformity within the profession, support the ongoing professional development of members through training, education and networking opportunities, and to address tree management issues, educational and industrial issues which affect the profession.
International Society of Arboriculturists Through research, technology, and education, the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) promotes the professional practice of arboriculture and fosters a greater worldwide awareness of the benefits of trees. ISA continues to be a dynamic medium through which arborists around the world share their experience and knowledge for the benefit of society. ISA is aligned on many fronts with other green organizations and is working hard to foster a better understanding of trees and tree care through research and the education of professionals as well as global efforts to inform tree care consumers.
Law Handbook SA The Law Handbook contains an overview of the law in South Australia presented in everyday language. It outlines your rights and responsibilities in a range of legal areas and advises on where you can go for more assistance. It is very handy and has an overview of Environmental and NRM legislation as it works in SA
Legislation: Codes of practice You can find relevant codes of practice at this site, eg stormwater
Lucid Acacias - wattles
National Landcare Programme The Australian Government National Landcare Programme will invest $1 billion over the next four years to help drive sustainable agriculture as well as supporting the protection, conservation and rehabilitation of Australia’s natural environment. The National Landcare Programme merges previous funding initiatives into one simple programme that puts Landcare back at the centre of natural resource management. Across Australia, the National Landcare Programme will support sustainable land management practices to deliver long-term benefits to our communities, our environment, our economy and our country.
Natural Resources Adelaide and Mt Lofty Ranges The pages link to Natural Resources of Adelaide and Mt Lofty ranges. to select another region click on the links in the bottom Right hand Side
Nature Conservation Society of South Australia The Nature Conservation Society of South Australia is a voluntary body with members drawn from all parts of the State and all walks of life. The Society's primary objective is to foster the conservation of the State's wildlife and natural habitats.
PlantFile Online.Net Up to 20 users.. Password obtained from Urrbrae library. Database which gives access on over 9,000 plants with details on 3,600 species and 24, 000 photographs. Gives information on leaf types; cultivars; climate; pest and diseases; hardiness zones; Distribution etc
The PlantHunter The Planthunter is an online magazine devoted to celebrating plants and the varied ways humans interact with them. Plants have been inspiring, feeding, sustaining and soothing humans for aeons. The Planthunter documents and celebrates these connections. Exploring the world outside our houses, offices, and heads, The Planthunter highlights the ties that bind us to our leafy friends in an authentic, unexpected, and creative manner. It gently coerces people to reconnect with plants.
Primary Industries and Resources SA Primary Industries and Regions SA (PIRSA) is a dynamic Government of South Australia agency with the vision of growing sustainable and competitive regions. PIRSA is committed to the sustainable use of the state's agriculture, wine, seafood, forestry, and food industries along with the provision of associated research, regulation, policy development and biosecurity imperatives. PIRSA leads and drives the State Government’s strategic priority of Premium Food and wine from our Clean Environment. use links on the left of website to find areas of Interest
South Australia Acts and Regulations website use this link to search for current and historical Acts and legislations - eg Natural Resources managment Act etc.
South Australia National Parks Shows the variety of National Parks right across South Australia
State of the Environment 2018 WELCOME TO THE 7TH STATE OF THE ENVIRONMENT REPORT FOR SOUTH AUSTRALIA Presented by the Environment Protection Authority. First published in 1988 it is a barometer of the state’s environmental health and makes an important contribution to knowledge about the condition of our natural resources and trends in environmental quality.
State of the Worlds Plants A detailed knowledge of plants is fundamental to human life on Earth. Plants underpin all aspects of our everyday life — from the food that we eat, to the clothes that we wear, the materials we use, the air we breathe, the medicines we take and much more. These essential services provided by plants are far too often taken for granted. This is the second annual report in which we have scrutinised databases, published literature, policy documents, reports and satellite imagery to provide a synthesis of current knowledge on the world’s plants.
Sustainable Gardening Australia a site which promote Sustainable gardening in Australia. treasure trove of blogs and other useful resources
Tree Contractors Association Australia The Tree Contactors Association Australia is a national body of stakeholders in the Arboriculture Industry. Our members are predominately qualified, fully-insured tree contractors, however the TCAA’s members also include: •Arboriculture consulting companies •Major manufacturers and suppliers of tree maintenance equipment •Insurance Brokers Our mission is Providing Professional Tree Services with Safety, Experience, and Trust.
TREENET TREENET is an independent non-profit organisation dedicated to improving the urban forest
Trees are good TreesAreGood.org provides the public with educational information about the benefits of trees and how to properly care for trees in the urban environment. The site contains resources from the International Society of Arboriculture, and also provides a collection of reliable tree care information provided by other industry organizations.
Trees for Life Trees For Life is a not for profit community based organisation working with everyday people to help restore our natural environment through revegetation and conservation. We raise funds to help protect wildlife habitat and work to re-establish biodiverse plantings on private land. You can financially support Trees For Life by joining 8,000 other members and becoming an ambassador (through membership or donations) of the work that our 3,000+ volunteers do to protect our environment. If you're more hands-on,
Valuing the Waite Arboretum Report produced in 2017 showing the Economic benefits of tress in the Waite ARboretum, South Australia
Via Farm Welcome to the Virtual Irrigation Academy (VIA), a place to learn how to improve crop yields through better management of irrigation water, soil nutrients, and salt. We introduce simple tools that can be used by anyone who is willing to learn by monitoring, observation, and experimentation. Our monitoring tools behave like a chameleon. Just as a chameleon changes colour to suit its environment, our monitoring tools also show soil water, nitrate and salt levels in the soil by changing colour. We call this a 'Virtual Academy' because sensors are buried on farms around the world and the data is displayed on this website. Each crop that is grown and monitored provides a unique colour pattern of water, nitrate and salt from which we can learn.

These databases contain articles that may be relevant to your subject. You can access all of them via our Online Databases page.

Australian and New Zealand Reference Centre

See our database guides on the Help page for assistance using these.

TAFE SA Libraries have videos available to view online from the ClickView streaming video library. You can view these videos on or off campus. If you are on campus, you should be able to access the videos directly from our catalogue without logging in. When off campus, you will be required to log in.

See these instructions on how to find and play the videos.